Warning: muffins may cause distraction

I have no idea what to say about these muffins, other than: go make them.  Right now. Every single day Some days, things pop into my email in the morning and I get all excited to make them but then realize I’m stuck in that stupid place I’m told I need to go in order to get paid. ALL DAY.  Hours and hours of just thinking about making ALL THE THINGS.  It is terribly distracting, particularly since my requests to have a convection oven and stove put in the break room are continually shot down.  These clowns clearly don’t understand how much more productive I would be if they’d just let me cook for my team all day.  On this particular day, I’m pretty sure I answered “when do you expect to have a draft?” with “GRAHAM CRACKERS!”  I’m also pretty sure my co-workers have taken to completely ignoring me when I spout culinary non-sequeturs.

The beauty of these muffins is that they look like muffins and taste like muffins, but they have chocolate in them, so they could pass for dessert too. Which, of course, just means you can eat them at every meal.  Not that you couldn’t do that anyway…I don’t judge.  Go ahead, eat trout almondine or something else decidedly dinnery for breakfast.  Really, that’s not weird.

Generally I get all panicky and upset when a recipe I want to make the minute I walk in the door involves a bunch of prep (and by “prep” I mean waiting for things like butter and eggs to come to room temperature) because I know I’ll lose interest or see a moth and whatever brilliant grand plan I had for making the best muffins before I pass out is shot to hell.  That’s what makes these even better.  No boring prep.  Just make and eat.  My kinda recipe.

As (almost) always, sift all the dry stuff together.

Don’t worry if you don’t have pre-crumbed grahams on hand…making the crumbs after a long day can be both cathartic and delicious.

Add the chips at the end to avoid over mixing (try not to shove half of them in your pie hole before you get to this point like I did).  Oh, and I used semi-sweet chips instead of the prescribed milk chocolate because “operation clean out the kitchen drawers” is in full swing and I’m not allowed to bring new ingredients into the house for fear of public lynching.  Usually I’d say it doesn’t matter, but I think these would actually be better with the milk chocolate.

Graham cracker crumb topping = best topping ever

This should be on everything.  Like vegetables.  And trout almondine.

Bake for 15-20 minutes and you have breakfast.  Or dessert.  Or gratifying emotional eating binge. No? Just me? Ok then.  Whatever, remember a minute ago when I didn’t judge you for eating salisbury steak for breakfast?  Tit for tat, people.

Personally, we’re fans of cream cheese on muffins in this house, but do whatcha want.

Yes, I took the same photo at different angles.  I liked them both. You’re welcome.

Graham Cracker Chocolate Chip Muffins
from:  www.tastykitchen.com
(posted by: howsweeteats who is kinda my hero)

FOR THE MUFFINS:
2 cups Flour, All Purpose
1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
½ teaspoons Kosher Salt
½ cups Sugar
1 cup Graham Cracker Crumbs
1 cup Whole Milk
⅓ cups Canola Or Vegetable Oil
1 whole Large Egg
2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
¾ cups Milk Chocolate Chips

FOR THE TOPPING:
¼ cups Flour, All Purpose
¼ cups Light Brown Sugar, Packed
¼ cups Graham Cracker Crumbs
½ teaspoons Cinnamon
3 Tablespoons Butter, Melted

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Line muffin tins with liners or spray well with cooking spray and set aside.

For the muffins, in a medium bowl whisk the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, and graham cracker crumbs until blended. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer (or with a hand mixer), combine the milk, oil, egg, and vanilla and beat until incorporated. Add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Add the chocolate chips and stir in by hand.

Using an ice cream size scoop, fill each muffin liner or tin with 1 scoop, about 2/3 full.

For the topping, in a bowl mix the flour, brown sugar, graham cracker crumbs, cinnamon and stir to combine all the dry ingredients well. Add the melted butter and mix well until crumbly and looking like wet sand.

Top each muffin with 1 heaping tablespoon of crumb topping. (or approximately half a fist full if you’ve already thrown the tbsp measure in the sink and don’t want to clean it)

Bake for 16-19 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean (keep an eye on them if your oven runs hot…mine only took 15 mins).

Makes 15(ish) muffins.

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, Cream Cheese, cupcakes, dessert, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Warning: muffins may cause distraction

  1. thehungrymum says:

    Do you post these to strange bloggers who are drooling while reading this?
    Amazing 🙂

  2. Geraldine says:

    They look yummy! And reading your post was quite entertaining. 🙂

  3. lovemylabs says:

    I don’t cook and now I hafta.

Leave a Reply

