Why I’m a crappy blogger…

My friend Emily IMed me today and threatened to hack into my blog and change my “Why I’m a Crappy Daughter” post to “Why I’m a Crappy Blogger” if I didn’t post something soon.  For fear of being cyber-violated (and because I’m a giant sucker for even the slightest of peer pressure), I immediately started writing (then abruptly stopped because I was distracted by something shiny or loud or tasty).  In her defense, however, it has been almost 2 months since my last post (which is almost 17 years in blogger time).  What?  You’ve never had a dry spell?

Now, Emily is one of the few people I know who not only will follow thru on her threats but will come up with something far worse than what she threatened as punishment for not taking her seriously, so I figured I needed to come up with something before she figured out how to photoshop my face onto Snookie’s body and paste it all over the interwebs.  Thankfully for my pristine interwebs reputation, B and I had a pretty kick ass summer bbq this weekend (even if it was almost vegetarian), with super easy-yet-impress-your-friends dishes AND I took pictures.  I sensed the threat.

MENU

watermelon with feta, mint, and balsamic vinegar
grilled portabella mushrooms with goat cheese and roasted red peppers
grilled garlic ciabatta bread

homemade vanilla bean iced cream with
caramelized bananas & not homemade chocolate chip pastry

white sangria

I’m hungry again just writing that…

Three unlikely ingredients = delicious.  I know it’s weird.  Just try it.  Trust me, I haven’t steered you wrong since that unfortunate incident in 1997.

Cubed watermelon, crumbled feta, chopped mint (and a little balsamic drizzled over the top – which I guess technically makes it 4 ingredients, but the last one is barely an ingredient, so I’m not counting it.  This is probably why I haven’t been asked to write a cookbook).

Stop looking at me like that, it’s really good. And pretty.

For the mushrooms, it doesn’t get much easier (and believe me, I know easy)…

In a ziplock bag or covered dish/tupperware thingie, place mushrooms, some balsamic vinegar, olive oil (I used basil flavored, but whatever you have will work), and seasoning of choice (I used dried italian seasoning, a couple crushed fresh cloves of garlic, and some red pepper flakes).  Let sit overnight, rotating occasionally.  Grill until they look done (another advantage of not grilling meat – your chances of giving your guests food poisoning is dramatically reduced).  Here we topped each with a glob (that’s a very specific culinary unit of measure) of goat cheese and a roasted red pepper (which you can get out of a jar or make yourself) and served on grilled ciabatta bread.  From Costco.

With the food served, you can sit back and enjoy the evening’s entertainment…

A giant furball telling a small human secrets.

Small humans going in search of dessert via the path of least resistance.

Dessert (which was way tastier than it looks…it was so hot, the ice cream melted before I could grab the camera).

Oh, and caramelizing bananas? As simple as slicing them, putting them in a pan with 2 Tbsp butter and 2 Tbsp brown sugar and cooking until they’re, well, caramelized.

An evening of good friends, delicious culinary simplicity, and boozy fruit at the bottom of my wine glass.  Perfection.

Cheers, Snookie.  Tonight, your face remains your own.

This entry was posted in bbq, dessert, dinner, dogs, food, meatless, recipes, Uncategorized, vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why I’m a crappy blogger…

  1. bethzare says:

    Maybe this will inspire me to get back on the blogging bandwagon. Thanks for posting.

  2. Barb says:

    Yum! I’ve been eyeing a similar recipe but it also has arugula http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/photo/Watermelon-Feta-and-Arugula-Salad-with-Balsamic-Glaze-353890
    And this one I have tried–Drunken Watermelon Pops. Delicious. http://www.chow.com/recipes/11883-drunken-watermelon-pops

    And you can never go wrong with carmelized bananas.

  3. Watermelon with mint and feta is one of my favorite summer salads! A few kalamata olives are good in there too for some extra salty goodness. I also love the last picture of the white sangria. It truly captures summer. =)

  4. Anna Nelson DeLuca says:

    Love the watermelon feta salad. I do one with watermelon, red onion, feta and red wine vinegar. I will be trying yours next 🙂

  5. Trina says:

    ooo that looks like a great summer salad! I love sangria too!

  6. That sandwich looks yummy

Leave a Reply

