laziness is the mother of invention

Know what sucks about being the “dessert chick”?  You’re the dessert chick.  Always.  Even when you’re not feeling terribly creative.  Even when you’re in those sweatpants with a hole in the butt and don’t have any eggs in the house (and no inclination to go anywhere).  Even when you get a girls-night invite on a school night the text doesn’t say “bring a veggie platter”, it says “bring something homemade that maybe involves fruit  so we can justify eating this while drinking several bottles of wine sweet”. First thought: “OMG I have something social to do on a weeknight!”  Second thought: “What the crap am I going to make?”

I was 2 brownish bananas short of banana cupcakes (and lacked the aforementioned eggs anyway).  I had consumed the last of our strawberries 47 minutes prior to receiving the invite.  I could have made one pan chocolate cake but that 1. didn’t seem terribly interesting and 2. would have had to occur to me before I decided pudding was the answer to all of my problems.

From the depth of my cabinets I produced graham cracker crumbs, sugar, a box of vanilla pudding (I have precisely zero idea where it came from, which is mildly unsettling), and a jar of Nutella (I DO know precisely where that came from).  I broke out my mini tart pans because I never use them and made things up as I went along…

Graham cracker crusts:

Nutella.  Never not a good idea.  Never.

The one almost brown banana I did have on hand.  This makes it healthy.  Dessert with a side of potassium.  Take THAT.

Topped with vanilla pudding (which I made with a combo of half and half and almond milk because it’s what I had in my fridge.  Takeaway lesson here?  Instant pudding can pretty much be made with anything liquid in the fridge.  Except maybe BBQ sauce.  Gross. Why did my head even go there?)

The chocolate shavings were just to pretty them up a bit.  They’re from a half eaten dark chocolate bar B stashed in the back of the drawer that he didn’t think I knew about.

Dessert chick to the rescue.  Or something like that.

Crust:

2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick) – melted
1/4-1/2 cup sugar (I used a little less than 1/2 cup)

Mix crumbs, butter and sugar together in a bowl (easiest to do with your hands)
Press into the tart pans (or a single tart pan, or a pie plate, or whatever vessel you want).
Bake at 375 about 10 minutes until edges are a bit browned.

Spread Nutella on the warm shell (it’s easier to spread if it’s a little warm), top with banana slices.

Make pudding according to package directions (this is the hard part people) – which is essentially “mix milk (or miscellaneous dairy & non dairy products) with instant pudding”.  Let sit.

Fill tart shells and chill (mine sat overnight – a couple of hours will do).

If you have the appropriate dairy products on hand, whip up some chocolate whipped cream, it would be even better than stealing stashed chocolate from your spouse.

Winging it never tasted so good.  And seeing my skinny-ass, hot-yoga-doing, running-even-though-nothing-is-chasing-them friends eat it all and ask for more?  Makes being the dessert chick totally worthwhile.  Love you ladies!

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, dessert, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to laziness is the mother of invention

  1. Geraldine says:

    They look yummy. And I can totally relate! 🙂

  2. lovemylabs says:

    You are amazing… and clever!

Leave a Reply

