Things I’ve learned from Mom

Things I’ve learned from my Mom

  1. My father is not always right (or sane), but sometimes it’s important to let him think he is.
  2. How to get a full Thanksgiving meal on the table while every dish is still hot (and your guest aren’t gnawing at the furniture because it took 7 hours longer than it should have).
  3. To rollerskate.

    My mom and her mom. Circa 1981(ish), making sure gravity doesn’t win. Yes, those are Strawberry Shortcake roller-skates. you’re jealous, I know.

  4. Selflessness.  Mine could never rival hers, but I’ve seen what I should be striving for first hand.
  5. A little chocolate hidden in a drawer for a rainy day never hurt anyone (I’m pretty certain she learned that one from her mom).
  6. To not be afraid of heights.

    Come to think of it, she may have wished I was a little MORE afraid of heights.

  7. How to make Pecan Crunch.
  8. How to eat all the reject pieces when she makes make meringue mushrooms.
  9. Trust is earned and once it is, it’s precious.  Try your damnedest not to f*ck it up.
  10. Swearing is not ladylike.
  11. Neither are unmannerly bites.
  12. To always be color coordinated, even when you’re broken.

    Sometimes, gravity wins.

  13. How to make a kick-ass toga (seriously, mom?  You didn’t really think that through, did you?)
  14. To trust my instincts, they’re right at least 63% of the time.
  15. When you break a mercury thermometer, hours of fun can be had playing with the little silver mercury blob.  You might even forget you were faking sick.
  16. Traveling the world is important, but home is where the heart (and easily digestible food) is.

    this photo was probably taken in Massachusetts, but it looks worldly

  17. How to hold onto a tiny bit of knowledge til it’s the right time to pull it out and bust someone. (Actual one-sided phone conversation circa 1994: “hello?  yes, this is Erin’s mom.  What?  No, I thought Erin was staying at Jeanette’s house tonight. Ok, thanks.”  Actual conversation in our kitchen 3 weeks later: “Mom, I’m going to spend the night at Jeanette’s house tonight.  Mom:  Like HELL you are.  Be home by 8.”)
  18. Grace and beauty in the face of fear and pain.  I’m not sure I can say I’ve really learned this so much as I can say I’ve witnessed it, and it gives me something to emulate.

Things I didn’t learn from my mom (because she was smart enough to let me figure them out on my own):

  1. Nail polish + finished wood furniture = bad.
  2. Just because you love someone doesn’t mean they’re the right person for you, forever.
    (disclaimer:  this is in no way a reference to my father or my husband, just her ability to trust my instincts even when they seemed, to everyone but me, to be broken)
  3. How to make pie crust.  She can’t either.  It’s sad and unfortunate.
  4. (SPOILER ALERT) The Easter Bunny, Santa, and the Tooth Fairy all have handwriting remarkably similar to my mom…and oddly, to our cat.
  5. Friendships and family relationships are constantly evolving.  Let them.
  6. It’s ok to ask for what you need.  No one can read your mind, even when you’re pouting.  (but sometimes pitching just a little bit of a fit works too.)
  7. A mother’s love is unconditional.  Unless you really piss her off.  Then you should give her 24-48 hours to remember that a mother’s love is unconditional.
  8. Her genes come with great skin, big boobs, thin hair, and ability to kill any house plant just by staring at it long enough.  I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

1979. I liked the big girl chair.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom.
I love you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things I’ve learned from Mom

  1. Joan says:

    Dear Bitsy —

    This is really the best Mother’s Day card ever!!! I was just lucky to have such a smart daughter who could pick up on life’s little lessons, And was so muchfun to teach (and play with.)

    Thank you.

    With my all my unconditional love,

    Mom

  2. Sidney says:

    Charming lists! Thank you for sharing with us!

  3. Angela says:

    Love this Erin!!

  4. thelegaltart says:

    This is a great post. Love the photos. I love how these old photos make mums look so glamorous, i hope i can find some of me in 20 years that look as good.

  5. Joanna says:

    Your Mom has style! I love the photos. What a great post!!!

  6. Pingback: Why I’m a crappy daughter | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

