Yumyum de Mayo!

Yeah, I know. That makes absolutely no sense at all. I am fairly certain I’ve completely lost it. But when it popped into my head I couldn’t stop laughing like a drunk hyena at how ridiculous it I sounded.  So I used it.  It seemed only fair after scaring everyone within 18 feet of me with my cackle that I put it out to the rest of the world.  With added exclamation (and maybe a shot of tequila) to top it off.  You’re welcome.

Anyway. You may have noticed I’ve been on a bit of a marshmallow bender lately, thanks to my dear friend/confectionery genius at Chubby Bunny Marshmallows.  This time there was actual scheming involved though.  Because I’m willing to do anything for marshmallows I’m super important and crap, Kelly sent me a pre-release run of the May flavor of the month – margarita.  Honestly, I’m running out of ideas for things to do with marshmallows in their solid state, which for some reason I felt compelled to maintain for all of these recipes.  As if it would somehow hurt their feelings if I melted them or made them into a sauce or something equally fantastically flavorful.   And now, in my head, I’ve given marshmallows emotions.  And probably names.   When heating them for my next experiment (which will happen as soon as my next shipment of crack arrives), I’m undoubtedly going to give them little Wicked Witch voices, which will be crying out “I’m meeelllttttinng”.  Don’t you wish you lived in my house?

So…for the May 1 release of Margarita Marshmallow Madness (I made that up, don’t blame Kelly), I give you these sandwich cookies, for which I have no name because everything that describes them is way too long and makes for a crappy name.  OOH, so I’ll call them Margarita Marshmallow Madness Cookies.  Because that’s fun and festive, yet almost entirely indescriptive (I’m pretty sure that’s not a word).   If you care, and you should, they are margarita marshmallows sandwiched between lime cookies dipped in white chocolate and sprinkled with lime zest and sea salt.  And they’re sticky.  And they’re f*ing good.

Finding the perfect temperature at which to sandwich them took some trial and error (and involved me being forced to consume a lot of melty goopy marshmallow in the process).  Sandwiching directly out of the oven was too hot (the marshmallow melted out and made a mess), but letting them cool too much meant the marshmallow didn’t really stick.  My advice is to let them cool about a minute on a rack then stack.  If they don’t melt enough to hold the two cookies together, you can put them back on the cookie sheet (in sandwich form) in a warm oven for a minute or 2. Just keep an eye on them.

Margarita Sandwich Cookies
w/Marshmallow and White Chocolate

Cookies adapted from bakingdom.com

3 tablespoons lime juice
1/4 cup milk (I used almond milk becuase it’s what I had)
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temp
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon tequila (optional – I exercised that option)
2 teaspoons finely grated lime zest
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt

Marshmallows (margarita flavored recommended, but regular ones would work too)
Additional lime zest (about 3 Tbsp)
Sea salt (about 1 Tbsp – I didn’t measure)
6 oz white chocolate, melted

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with parchment.

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, then add the lime juice, zest, and milk (and tequila, if using); mix well. Sprinkle half of the flour mixture over the wet ingredients; stir until combined. Sprinkle the rest of the dry ingredients on top and mix until combined.

Drop scant tablespoonfuls of batter onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving about 3 inches between the cookies (I used a little less than a Tbsp because I wanted them on the small side).

Bake for 11-13 minutes, or until cookies are somewhat firm. Allow to cool on the sheets for 2 minutes, then transfer to wire cooling racks.  If they are still warm but cool enough to handle comfortably, they’re ready to be sandwiched with the marshmallows (see above).

Combine lime zest and sea salt in a small bowl.

When the sandwiches are constructed and completely cool, melt the white chocolate (either in a double boiler or a microwave safe bowl).  Dip 1 end of the sandwiches in the chocolate and place on parchment paper.  Sprinkle with zest and salt while the chocolate is still warm.

De Nada!

This entry was posted in Baking, cookies, dessert, food, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yumyum de Mayo!

  1. I wud like to try this one 🙂

  2. iwannanewbag says:

    I’m diggin’ the lime zest garnishment. Both festive and delicious looking

  3. iwannanewbag says:

    Why’s my name going in as iwannanewbag? That’s my blog too, but I go by Woof Nanny far more often. Whatever.

  4. andiemultiplemama says:

    Wow! Margarita marshmellows! That is the coolest thing I have heard all day!

  5. Ann Odle says:

    Oh, those look so delicious! Just wish I had time to try out your recipe (I AM adding this page to my bookmarked recipe folder though!)

  6. emmymom2 says:

    You are a much more committed cook than I am. I have been so lazy with cooking lately

Leave a Reply

