What is that? Velvet??

Why yes.  Yes it is.  Red velvet.  With cute little mini chocolate chips.  And marshmallows. Prince Akeem would friggin’ love these.  Because Akeem was smart like that.

I recently received my second shipment of Chubby Bunny Marshmallow awesomeness, including replenishment of my mocha-chino supply, these red velvet lovelies, and the super-secret-soon-to-be-released flavor of the month for May.  That’s right, I know people.  Important marshmallow making people.  Given my current career trajectory, it’s safe to assume this is about as famous as I’m ever gonna be.

These sugary pillows of love are super sweet, so I was going to pair them with uber dark chocolate brownies, but that didn’t feel creative enough, since that’s precisely what I did with my last Chubby Bunny experiment.  How Sweet Eats to the rescue with her chewy red velvet cookie recipe.

I’ve logged enough hours in the kitchen to know that this concoction had a low probability of actually working but I’ve found that baking, with most things in life, is best done blindly and with complete disregard for the scientifically likely outcome.  Makes things more interesting (though not necessarily more mouth watering).  I was right.  The marshmallows did exactly what I expected them to do.  They melted and oozed all over the cookie sheet like sugary molten lava (which, for those of you who didn’t know me when I was 5, scares the crap out of me.  I saw a 3-2-1 Contact special on volcanoes and was convinced that the red summer sunset off in the distance was volcanic lava rolling lethally through the sleepy hamlets of northern Massachusetts. Shut up, it could happen).

This photo has nothing to do with my fear of lava. I just thought it was cool.

After the first sloppy batch, I figured out that if I put more than 18 seconds into getting the dough globs onto the cookie sheet, I could avoid 86% of the magma eruption by making sure the marshmallowy bits were tucked up inside the dough.  It still melted to form a chewy, caramelized sugary crust on the bottom of the cookie, but it wasn’t spanning the landscape cookie sheet to melt my flesh make a crunchy mess.  They were good either way, but they were prettier with a teensy bit of effort.  Just like gardening.  And pole dancing.

It’s worth noting that while B often gets mad at me for not ushering baked goods into hermetically sealed packages and whisking them out of the house before he can shove them in his face (he’s watching his girlish figure), he made a special exception not only to eat these, but drove to the corner market for ice cream to make cookie sandwiches.  B is the brains of this operation (but don’t ever tell him I said that).

Red Velvet Marshmallow Cookies
adapted from www.howsweeteats.com

1/2 cup butter (room temp)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon red food coloring (or 1 squirt of the gel kind)
1/2 a bag of mini chocolate chips
5 giant red velvet marshmallows, cut into small cubes*

Preheat oven to 375.

Cream butter and sugars together until fluffy in the bowl of an electric mixer. Add egg and vanilla and combine until smooth. Beat in red food coloring. Stir in cocoa, flour, baking soda and salt until just combined, scraping down the sides when needed. Fold in chocolate chips and marshmallows.

Using a small ice cream scoop or a large spoon, scoop out 1-2 tablespoons of dough and set on baking sheet.  Try to tuck the marshmallow bits into the middle of the cookie to prevent leakage.  Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Over baking will make the caramelized sugar bitter, so keep an eye on them.

*helpful tip for cutting up marshmallows:  put a little powdered sugar on the cutting surface, then using kitchen shears rather than a knife, cut into strips.  Dust the strips with the sugar to keep them from sticking to everything in your kitchen.  Repeat until the bits are whatever size you want.

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, cookies, dessert, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What is that? Velvet??

  1. Oh.My.God. The sandwich idea…brilliant. I wonder if there’s a way to naturally infuse color? That red dye kinda creeps me out. Pomegranite juice? Cherry? Mashed strawberries? I plan on experimenting soon.

  2. My bad. Proper spelling is pomegranate. ugh. I knew that!

  3. lovemylabs says:

    I’m just here to say … they were Delicious!!! and I was not worried for my life – thinking that they were lava or anything like that 🙂

  4. NookAndSea says:

    Those marshmellows look DIVINE! Wow. Yummers.

    Kristina
    Nook & Sea

  5. Pingback: The scariest (and most delish) vacation ever. | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

