Malt, the experiment.

I had 417 things to do last Friday night to ready the house for friends visiting this weekend (yay!).  Making cookies was not one of them.  So I made cookies.  They sucked.  Karma’s a bitch.

When I say they sucked, I mean the outcome kinda sucked, but not the flavor.  The flavor was kick ass (particularly with the glob of vanilla ice cream with which they were consumed).  They just came out really flat – sort of like slightly chewy cookie brittle, thought I’m not entirely sure why.  I’ll definitely give them a chance to redeem themselves, but with a few changes.  I meant to bring the remainder to work with me (have I mentioned that people in offices will eat anything because they’re so bored it’s eat the cookie or make capes for metal chickens?  Eating the cookies takes less supplies), but they were relegated to a baggie in the bottom drawer in my kitchen and I forgot about them.

Magically, they were sitting on the counter last night when I got home and I was suddenly overcome by that feeling of fear and guilt you get when you’re a kid and something you were trying to hide from your parents is sitting out in the open glaring at you as if to say “your father will deal with this when he gets home”.  I have issues.  They were 4 days old and B still at 3…I guess they weren’t that bad.

The plastic baggie of shame

I’m not sure how to tell you to make them not as flat and gooey.  But perhaps you like them that way, what the hell do I know?  I can tell you that if you like chocolate chip cookies and a hint of malt flavor, you’ll love how these taste.  I will experiment with other options for you, because 1. I love you just that much and 2. B ate most of them and now I want more.

I modified a recipe that already had me all excited (coffee? chocolate chips? cookies?  why do I have to rely on the interwebs to figure this crap out.  note to self…must work on creativity) because I didn’t feel like something coffee flavored (which, upon further examination explains exactly why these didn’t come out correctly.  I was bucking the natural forces of the universe from the beginning – I’m surprised my kitchen didn’t flood just to prove a point).

Eggs, sugar & malt powder.  Don’t be like me. Sift your malt powder.  It clumps:

It all works out in the end though.  The batter was fan-freakin-tastic. Come to think of it, maybe that’s why they were flat…I ate 3 bars worth of batter before it went in the oven…the deductive reasoning I’m capable of should blow your mind.  I swear I took a photo of the finished product, but I can’t find it, so I’ll have to make it up to you later.  If you have a suggestion as to how I should do that, please let me know. We’ve established I’m not terribly creative.

Malt Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars
Adapted from Gingerbread Bagel’s Coffee Blondie recipe:
http://gingerbreadbagels.com

1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 Tablespoons vanilla extract
1 heaping Tbsp Malted Milk powder
1 large egg, at room temperature
1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Sift together the flour, baking powder, kosher sale, baking soda, and malt powder. Set aside. (I didn’t sift the malt powder, but you should…I got some clumps. You couldn’t taste them in the bars, but they made the batter look funny.  Funny looking batter is never good.)

In a bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, mix together the brown sugar, melted butter, vanilla extract and instant coffee on medium speed for 3 minutes until completely combined.

Add in the egg and mix to combine.

Slowly add in the dry ingredients on low speed and mix until just combined. (Once all of the dry ingredients are added, stop the mixer.)
Take a spatula and fold the ingredients together.

Add in the chocolate chips and fold them in.

Spread the batter into a lightly greased 8 by 8 inch baking pan.
Bake the blondies at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.
Cool in the pan on a cooling rack.

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, cookies, dessert, recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Malt, the experiment.

  1. Barb says:

    Maybe check the date on your baking powder and your baking soda? That could decrease rise. They look fine though.

  2. trialsinfood says:

    The batter looks awesome. =)

  3. lovemylabs says:

    Ummmm, I’m looking at the filing cabinet and there are no tasty parcels of chocolate chip malty goodness (flat or otherwise) for me to sample. [sad face]

Leave a Reply

