Elvis has left the kitchen

So, evidently my cousin, who is a whopping 8 years older than my lazy ass AND has procreated enough to start her own royal family, ran a TWO HUNDRED mile relay from somewhere-or-other to Key freakin’ West this weekend.  Due to the upbeat nature of her Facebook posts, I’m guessing she did this of her own free will and not while being chased by rabid alligators with jet packs.  She claimed it was “a great way to blow off steam”.  Know how I blow off steam, sister?  I sit on my ass and read cookbooks.  Granted, my ass would probably be smaller if I ran to Florida.  Oh, but wait.  I’d be dead, so I’m going to stick with what works.  Look, I even have proof.  This is my lap after B left for work yesterday:

I was, in fact, attempting to be productive.  I had a birthday party to attend and was responsible for the back-up dessert.  You know, the dessert that people would really rather eat instead of the store-bought cake but someone’s mom/sister-in-law/babysitter/manicurist said that you just HAD to have cake from this bakery so someone is bringing it anyway.  So, obviously it had to be better than the cake good.

I didn’t intend to continue the “this is really flippin’ easy so you should make it” theme into 2012, but turns out these are really flippin’ easy.  And you should make them.  I found the original recipe on Pinterest, but adapted it to fit my odd Elvis-like craving.  I couldn’t read the words Peanut Butter yesterday without thinking bananas (!!!).  But then, who can?  Ok, probably everyone but me.

I sifted the flour because I’m an overachiever like that.  The recipe doesn’t call for it.  I leave that step to your discretion.

PB & butter creamed together.

The secret ingredient.  Next time I’d add 2.  I like me some ‘nanas.

Batter up.

Golden banana chocolate peanut buttery goodness.  Thankfully I was late for the party these were bound for and didn’t have time to let them cool…otherwise I may have inhaled the whole pan.

These might be quite tasty with ice cream.  Not that I would know…I’m just guessing here.

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Bars
as adapted from www.bakeat350/blogspot.com 

6 TBSP unsalted butter – room temp
1/2 c natural chunky peanut butter (I used Skippy Natural – creamy could probably work too, but I don’t ever have creamy PB in the house. it’s dumb.)
1 c sugar
1/4 c light brown sugar, packed
2 eggs (room temp)
1 tsp vanilla
1 banana (or more)
1 c flour
1/4 tsp coarse salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 c chocolate chips
(I used semi-sweet, but I think milk chocolate would be better)

Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease an 8 x 8″ pan

Whisk together the flour, salt and baking powder. Set aside.

Cream the butter and peanut butter together until smooth. Beat in the sugars until combined.

Add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition. Stir in the vanilla and banana.

Stir in the flour mixture. Add the chocolate chips, stirring until combined.

Spread the batter into the prepared pan.  Bake for about 30- 32 minutes (that’s what the recipe said…mine took closer to an hour.  I think my oven is craptastic).

Cool completely before cutting (if you can wait).  Remove them from arms reach immediately for your own good.  Or bust out the Ben & Jerry’s.  I’ll leave that to your discretion too.

Thank you.  Thank you very much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Elvis has left the kitchen

  1. thelegaltart says:

    I do not understand the marathon thing. I just try and feed them cake until they come around to thinking cake good…running bad.

  2. nikib says:

    If I run 200 miles in the warmth and sun … do I have to come back?

    So excited to try these. Quite possibly a picky-eater’s dream… banana and pb w/chocolate? Might become a staple in our house.

  3. Howard says:

    I see the banana listed above, but you did not say when to add it to the mixture. Or should I just know from the picture steps above?

  4. lovemylabs says:

    This looks quite delish! I just may have to bake me some … hubba hubba

Leave a Reply

