Ta-ta twenty-eleven

Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man. ~Benjamin Franklin

Where in holy hell did 2011 go?  I’m still writing 2010 on crap.  Last year about this time, I wrote about resolutions; more accurately, my lack thereof.  It’s a good thing I didn’t make any, because I most certainly would have neglected or forgotten them by now and I’d be forced to flog myself as penance for my failure.  Or maybe just feel kinda crappy about it for five minutes.  Clearly this strategy of non-resolving is working for me, so I think I’ll stick with it for 2012.

Last year we barely made it to midnight, proving our lack of social stamina.  This year, we’re going to give it a shot by actually leaving the house to celebrate with friends.  I figure, if we’re not 8 feet from our bedroom, we’re less likely to crap out.  This may be a pipe dream, but I’m optimistic.

In sticking to my “really easy holiday recipes” theme, I’m bringing kick ass jalapeno wings (pre-marinated by my trusty local butcher), this (because I have one in the freezer and it’s  ridiculous with vanilla ice cream), and Kitty Chow to the party.  No, I’m not bringing cat food to a party, though some of my friends would find that pretty amusing.  Kitty Chow is a recipe of vague origin from somewhere in Niki’s family tree (Niki, for those of you who haven’t been paying attention, is my oldest and dearest friend).  My guess is someone in her family found it on the back of a Chex box a few years ago, brought it to a party and it became family lore, but who the hell cares?  I’m told it’s like food crack. And I love me some food crack.  She has no idea why it’s called Kitty Chow.  Neither do I, though Niki thought I should “since I had cats growing up”.  I’m pretty sure you’re not supposed to feed chocolate to cats, Niki.  Or maybe that’s just dogs…doesn’t really matter since I don’t share my chocolate.  Regardless, it doesn’t look like any cat food I’ve ever seen and it’s not a terribly appetizing name.  But again, food crack.

It took me approximately 6 minutes to make a metric butt ton of this stuff, and it is pretty tasty, if not a tad sweet for my pallet (which is precisely why I didn’t make traditional Chex mix.  It’s hazardous to my health and the health of anyone who tries to take it away from me).

You take these ingredients (not the fruit, I just didn’t move that out of the way…but I can see how that could be confusing):

Pour the Chex into a large container with a lid (and while you’re at it, check out that freakin’ one handed action shot):

Mix a bag of PB chips and milk chocolate chips with 1/2 cup of peanut butter and melt it all together.  Niki’s recipe didn’t specify chunky or smooth, probably because it doesn’t matter at all.  I had chunky, so that’s what I used.  I’m resourceful like that.

I opted for the microwave melting method, but you could use a double boiler if you feel like finding it in your disaster of a cabinet.

This is what it looked like after 45 seconds:

And after about 2.5 minutes (stopping to stir every 30 seconds or so to stir).  You might not need that much time, I kept it going because it wasn’t smooth.  Then I remembered I had chunky peanut butter in there.  I’m a little slow on the uptake sometimes.

Pour the melted goo over the Chex.  What’s this? Another action shot?  Whaaat?

Stir as carefully as you can to not break EVERY. SINGLE. CHEX.  I used a gloved hand, but really, any stirring apparatus will do.

When it’s all mixed up, shake 2 cups of powdered sugar over the whole goopy thing (I did this in 1 cup stages), put the lid on and shake. You don’t need to be as concerned about breakage at this point because the chocolate mixture has formed convenient little exoskeletons over the cereal.

The sugar forms a nice coating over the sticky chocolate so it’s not a full-on mess to eat.  I was a bit skeptical of the 2 cups, it seemed like adding way too much, but if Niki says I’ll like it and it works, she’s probably right.  We sort of share a brain, so by default we sort of share taste buds.  Except when it comes to olives.  Gross.

Now we just have to refrain from eating it all before the party.  I’m thinking a nap might be the best way to suppress temptation.  It might add to the chances of me making it to midnight too.  Win-win.

However you’re bidding adieu to 2011, may 2012 be full of love, light, and laughter (and plenty of alliteration).  And some fabulous food.

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, cooking, dessert, food, holidays, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ta-ta twenty-eleven

  1. danastaves says:

    Fun post! I love this snack (which we grew up calling Puppy Chow)! Happy eating!

  2. lovemylabs says:

    Sounds like quite a tasty treat! Happy New Year my dear work spouse. Can’t wait to see you soon and catch up.

  3. I lived off this snack as a kid! My family also called it Puppy Chow! Now I really, really want some!

Leave a Reply

