Gingerbread cups o’ holiday cheer

I am celebrating Christmas in Florida with B’s family and while I am woefully behind on posting holiday goodies, there’s an excellent chance I will be flogged with a dead mackerel  if I lock myself away and start writing.  No, that’s not a euphemism.  My sister-in-law actually caught a mackerel today – along with some other big pretty fish we made for dinner and I happily shoved in my face.  And by we, I mean people who know how to cook fish that didn’t come from a store wrapped in cellophane, not me.  I put potatoes in the oven and other things equally helpful like pouring wine.  I wanted to get these posted before the new year though because they’re 1. easy and 2. gingerbread, which isn’t as popular after the fat man gets himself outta the chimney.

I found these little buggers on my latest web obsession, Pinterest.  It makes me want to cook ALL the things, live in a house that looks like the set of the last Restoration Hardware photo shoot and dress like an actual grown up who knows how to match colors and accessorize.  I could totally do all these things…if I could just tear myself away from Pinterest long enough to be a productive member of society.  Ok, that last part’s not really true.

I am the last person on the planet who would ever comment negatively on another food blog, but either I am doing something wrong with measuring cups, or the original recipe for these is a little off on the proportions.  It said to use about 2 tsps of dough for each ball.  I did that, then realized they looked way smaller than the photos.  So I redid all my balls.

This is the 2 tsp measure, sitting in a tsp. I was generous, but it was still really small.

The new and improved size, sitting in a Tbsp measure.  By the way, measuring every ball is a pain.  I used a kitchen scale.  These are all about 7/8ths of an ounce, though you could not be as completely neurotic as me and just make them an ounce. I recommend that approach (as a general rule, not just in ball making).

I used the butt end of a cheese knife that happened to be round and the perfect size for this, but honestly I think your thumb is probably the best bet (the original blog suggested a measuring spoon, I tried that too…I’m not coordinated to make them pretty that way).

I was ready to eat them raw, but B wanted me to bake them.  And giving everyone at my office salmonella poisoning for the holidays would just be rude.

Gingerbread Cheesecake Bites
(Adapted from:  www.createdby-diane.com, measurements adjusted to what I used to create as little confusion as possible)

1 (30 oz) package Pillsbury Gingerbread Cookie Dough (refrigerated section)
4 oz cream cheese (room temperature)
2 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
Makes about 35, which is less than convenient given standard pan sizes, but oh well.

Roll about 1 oz, or just shy of 2 Tbsp of cookie dough into a ball for each cookie. Place balls of dough into paper liners mini cupcake/muffin pan. Make a well/indentation into each ball of dough with a flour dipped mini rolling pin or the back of a measurement teaspoon (or your finger).
Beat cream cheese with powdered sugar.
Stir in vanilla.
Place filling into a piping bag or freezer bag, cut off edge of bag. Place one teaspoon or so of filling into each area of cookie dough.

Bake at 350 degrees for 9 minutes or until cookie tested with tooth pick comes out almost clean. DO NOT OVERBAKE.  They will be terrible.  Trust me.  I know things.
Don’t over fill the cookies with filling as they will rise when baked.
Let cool before removing from cupcake pan.

Happy Christmas!

Merry whatever you celebrate!

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Baking, cookies, Cream Cheese, dessert, holidays, recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

