Tartin’ it up

In my previous post, I promised that if you were good, I’d show you the peach tart I made.  Of course, I have no way of knowing if any of you were good because I’m not Santa Clause or Chuck Norris, but the peach tart got rave reviews from my soon-to-be diabetic co-workers, so I figured I should post it anyway.

I’ve discussed my genetic anomaly that prevents me from being able to make pie crust in the past.  Enter the tart (the baked good, not some saucy strumpet, that’s a different post all together). With a tart, I can get all of the fruity goodness of a pie without having to actually make a pie crust.  I haven’t done this before because, of all the ridiculous kitchen implements I own, a tart pan wasn’t one of them.  It would just be absurd to try to make a tart without the proper pan.  Enter my dear friend Emily (who is a saucy strumpet, but a lovely one).  She sent me a tart pan and six baby tart pans for my birthday and vowed to torment me until I used them.  Ok, maybe she didn’t actually say that, but it’s kinda how she rolls.  Emily is also a better cook than I will ever be, but I think she would have been proud of my first foray into tarting (of course that’s a word, trust me, I’m smart).

If summer fruit is still in season where you live, go make this.  Soon it will be fall and you’ll be forced to make desserts with nothing but apples for 4 months.

The crust really is this easy.  Put things in a bowl. Mash gently with a fork.

Ta Da!  ok, that might be a bit dramatic.

Use your fingers to smush it into the tart pan.  No need for rolling pins here.

I attempted to make the fruit look pretty, but really, I just piled it on there.  Which is good, because the topping obscures most of the peaches once it’s baked anyway, so I would have been pissed if I spent forever making it all perfect and crap.

Topped with what seems like far too much topping.  It’s not.

See?  It all melts down into ooey gooey goodness.

The crust tastes a little like shortbread.  In case you’re wondering (and really, how could you not) those are gargantuan grapes from our CSA.  They have nothing to do with the tart, I’m just attempting to make my photos less stupid.

Peach Tart
(adapted from Amanda’s recipe on www.food52.com)
Makes one 11″ tart.  Works in a 10″ pan too.  Just sayin’.

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoons kosher salt
3/4 cups sugar
1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil (I used vegetable)
1/4 cup olive oil (I used a citrus infused olive oil and it gave the crust a really interesting flavor)
2 tablespoons milk (I used skim)
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
2 tablespoons cold, unsalted butter
3 to 5 small ripe peaches, pitted and thickly sliced (about 1/2-inch wide)

This recipe says not to remove the skin from the peaches, but the entire reason I wanted to bake with the peaches I had rather than just eating them was that I can’t stand eating fuzzy food.  Peach skin skeeves me right the hell out.  Blech. So I blanched the peaches and peeled them first.  To blanch, if you’re with me on the fuzzy food thing:  submerge peaches in boiling water for about 30 seconds.  A little less if they’re really squishy ripe.  Remove from hot water, run under cold, and the peels will come right off.  Proceed with slicing and pitting.

Heat the oven to 425 degrees. In a mixing bowl, stir together 1 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspoon sugar.  In another small bowl, whisk together the oils, milk and almond extract. Pour this mixture into the flour mixture and mix gently with a fork, just to combine or it will be tough (says the girl who can’t make crust).  Transfer the dough to the waiting tart pan, and use your hands to pat out the dough so it covers the bottom of the pan, pushing it up the sides of the pan.

In a bowl, combine 3/4 cup sugar, 2 tablespoons flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt and the butter. Using your fingers to mix everything together until it forms a crumbly topping type mixture.

Starting on the outside, arrange the peaches overlapping in a circle over the crust, working inward.  Realize the inside pattern won’t be pretty and just blob a bunch of peach slices in the middle.  Try to fill in any blank spots so the whole crust is covered with fruit.  Sprinkle the whole load of topping over the top, spreading evenly.  Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, until shiny, thick bubbles begin enveloping the fruit and the crust is slightly brown.  35 minutes did it for mine.

It would have been better served with ice cream, but bringing ice cream to my office is a mess.  It would sit neglected until it melted out of the container and formed a sticky mess on the carpet.  I can’t handle that sort of impending disaster at work, I already have to walk in heels.

Thanks to Emily for my pan.
We shall create something marvelous in it when you come visit.

This entry was posted in Baking, cakes, dessert, fruit, recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tartin’ it up

  1. lovemylabs says:

    The tart really was amazing! Thank you Emily for supplying the pan that got Erin a-baking for one of her diabetic (and fat) coworkers 🙂

  2. Ooooooh I love a good tart :D. Looks amazing, and pefectly cooked too, something which can be tricky to do!

  3. Emily says:

    Can I have re-do when I come in a few weeks?

  4. Danielle M says:

    You saucy minx. When can I bring my tart pan over and completely mess up a recipe?

  5. Pingback: My favorite deadly sin | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

