No laboring on labor day

It’s a rainy day here in SoCal and that has led to my being an even lazier sack of human than usual.  There will be no laboring here on this here Labor Day.  Since I can’t be lazy outside without getting wet, and since I need to use up some buttermilk in the fridge, I took to the kitchen.  I had buttermilk to use for reasons that I just don’t feel like explaining right now (they’re not entertaining reasons anyway, you’re missing nothing), so I googled “buttermilk recipes” and picked this one because it’s so stupidly easy that I reasoned it couldn’t possibly come out well, which will of course will keep me from eating most of it. With B out of town for a week, I need to take these things into consideration, as going shopping for bigger pants would involve getting off the couch.

I’d never even heard of Buttermilk Pie.  It doesn’t sound terribly appetizing, really. But ignoring the obvious is something I’m rather skilled at, and the glaring 5 star ratings jumping off the page like big, happy fireworks did not play into my reasoning at all. Baking is supposed to be complicated to be good, damn it.

Take these:

Put them in a bowl:

Make them look like this

Pour it in a pie plate

Bake it til it’s all browned and pretty

Slice and enjoy

This really shouldn’t be good.  It only has 4 steps (including cutting slices, which of course can be bypassed by attacking directly with a fork).  But alas, it is good.  I ate a second piece just to be sure.  I wouldn’t want to lead you astray or anything.  There are a ton of variations you could do to this too – use almond extract instead of vanilla, add coconut for volume (I would not do this because coconut is gross, but to each his own), bake the fruit in rather than putting it on top, or top it with just about any flavored whip cream you like. Madness, I tell you.

Buttermilk Pie
(from:  www.foodnetwork.com)

1 1/4 – 1 1/2 cups sugar (I used 1 1/4)
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup Bisquick pancake mix
1/3 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Grease a 9-inch pie pan (smaller if you want a thicker pie).

Put all ingredients in a bowl and blend for 1 minute with a handheld electric mixer. Pour mixture into prepared pan. Bake for about 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes.

Seriously.  It’s that easy.  Happy non-labor day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No laboring on labor day

  1. Howard Springsteen says:

    You are correct. Coconut is totally gross.

  2. Barb says:

    Oh yay, you used the vanilla 🙂

Leave a Reply

