Adios, amigo

You know how they say most people have a “work spouse”?  I don’t know who “they” are or how they know where I work, but you know the person I mean.  The co-worker you tell all your stupid personal, not appropriate for work crap to and they listen because they love you even when you’re being a neurotic freak?  The people who make you laugh til Diet Coke comes out your nose even when the other people in your work world are being total ass hats?  Anyway, even though I’m not really a fan of open relationships, I happen to have two work spouses.  That’s right, TWO (ha HA).  However, one of them is leaving me. Today.  I guess he’s leaving us, really, cuz it’s kinda a three-way thing we got going here.  He got this awesome stupid promotion to a fantastic stupid new position and it’s in another building.  FIFTEEN WHOLE MINUTES AWAY.  So, we’re in a fight because he put his career over his work marriages.  But hey, any excuse to bake, right?

So, for his department wide going away party, I made his favorite, red velvet cake.  And because I don’t have a pan big enough to bake a sheet cake for all the yahoos I work with (I use yahoo as a term of endearment, mostly), I made the Mexican hot chocolate cupcakes I love so much too.  With a drizzle of caramel sauce, just to switch things up.

My cube smells so good right now.

So, I’m going to have to go ahead and say see ya later, W (ok, there are only two people who read my blog that will get why that’s funny and not just another boring sentence.  But for them, it’s worth confusing the rest of you).

I don’t have photos of the cake yet, but here is a photo of Benedict Arnold holding a little furry white thing that is pretending to be a dog while checking his email.  He was given the promotion based solely on his ability to multitask.  Oh, and there’s some creepy little doll in his hand too.  I don’t know WTF is up with that, I’m guessing he didn’t bring that to the interview.

Recipes and more photos to follow!

This entry was posted in Baking, cakes, cooking, Cream Cheese, cupcakes, dessert, dogs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adios, amigo

  1. I also have a work husband so I know exactly what you mean! The cupcakes look amazing…and that little dog is just too stinkin’ cute!

  2. Work husbands exist in Spain too!! You are WONDERFUL!!! xxoo

  3. God I love you. Just sayin.

  4. Oh, and this red velvet recipe is to die for. One can never get too many cake recipes to tryhttp://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Red-Velvet-Cake-with-Raspberries-and-Blueberries-108256

Leave a Reply

