Birthday Girl!

So, tomorrow is my 35th birthday (today by the time most of you read this).  For the last

my birthday cake on Sunday night, the kick off to "birthday week 35". Compliments of Chris Brown!

month, that fact has REALLY bothered me for no truly graspable reason.  Way more than 30 ever bothered me.  In fact, I found 31 to be slightly more disturbing than 30.  That might have had something to do with the fact that I was taking the CA bar exam 2 weeks after my 30th birthday, so my brain had no ability to comprehend concepts such as the weather or dust or stairs, much less age and birthdays.  Had I gone into some philosophical funk over the number 30 I would have gone stark raving mad.  Like, sit on the corner and drool on my stuffed animals mad.  My stuffed animals do not like to be drooled on, so that wouldn’t have been pretty (as a side note, I don’t recommend taking the CA bar exam under any circumstances).  Now, however, I’m over it. I’m just ready to enjoy what year 35 has to offer.  I have a feeling it will be something good.

I’m not one of those people who hides from birthdays or pretends I wish no one noticed but secretly relish every “happy birthday” wish on Facebook.  I truly believe that another trip around the sun (thanks Buffett) deserves to be acknowledged and celebrated (even if that particular birthday bothers the crap outta me).  I love Facebook for that very reason and I’m not ashamed to admit that it gives me a little warm fuzzy feeling when someone I barely knew when I was 8 but found me on FB because I have a unique last name wishes me buenos cumpleanos (in my head, the people I knew when I was 8 speak spanish).

So, in the coming days, I will post about my birthday celebrations, the cake I make on Friday, my new kitchen toy from my bff, and possibly a bunch of crap I have to make up because I’m too drunk to remember what I really did.

Until then I leave you with this most awesome photo of me.  THIRTY ONE YEARS AGO.

I pretty much still look like this on my birthday.  Frosting on my face and all.

I am 4 and I like cake. Do not mess with me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birthday Girl!

  1. niki says:

    Love you, beautiful. Hope it’s a great birthday! It’s sunny & 80 here so in my mind I’m pretending I’m there with you as we share the same weather, 3000 miles apart!

  2. lovemylabs says:

    Hope you have the best birthday ever!!! (Your work spouse/bff) 🙂 Love you girl!

Leave a Reply

