Curd.

Such a gross word that describes really tasty things.  Cheese curds (a la poutine, the finest of Canadian cuisine).  Lemon curd.  Um, ok, those are the only curds I can think of right now, but they’re really tasty curds.

Curd was my friend Danielle’s request for her birthday.  She wanted lemon cupcakes and they had to involve lemon curd.

Lemon curd is actually pretty easy to make, but for some unknown reason, I always have a jar of it in the house.  I’ve never actually purchased it though.  Mmmm.  Mystery curd.

This is what my kitchen looked like when I started baking.  Awesome.  This limited my picture taking abilities significantly.  There was nowhere to put the camera down.  Don’t judge, it’s clean, just messy.  And yes, I have 2 coffee makers.  Don’t judge me for that either.

I was also drinking this while I baked.  Made for blurry photos.

For the record, I think the branding for this drink is ridiculous, but as bottled drinks go, it’s pretty tasty and not all sweet and syrupy.

The decorating is the fun part of these cupcakes anyway.  I’ve been totally obsessed with these hydrangea cupcakes since I first came across them.   I mean, she makes them look so easy and they’re so pretty!  Hydrangeas happen to be one of my favorite flowers. Mine weren’t so pretty, but they weren’t as hard as I expected either.  I used the same 2 color technique, which is not as easy as Glory’s photos make it look.  I’m It’s messy, but it works (the bag is propped up in a pint glass, not floating magically above the counter…but how cool would that be?).

Word to the wise; don’t try to make these with frosting that has zest in it.  It clogs the tip and they get all gloppy.  I spent every 38 seconds picking zest out of the tip with a toothpick.  Just like Glory, I used the 2D piping tip and piped flowers around the outside then filled in the middle.  

These pictures would be so much better if I’d had the foresight to purchase flowers to go with the cupcakes.  I don’t plan in advance.

The birthday girl got the big mama cupcake.

She might kill me for posting these, but I think she was pleased with her birthday treats.

Happy Birthday D-money!

Lemon Cupcakes
(adapted from the Lemon-Ginger Bundt Cake recipe
in the Weight Watchers Comfort Classics cookbook)
Makes 18 cupcakes and one jumbo one (or 20 regular)

1 1/4 C granulated sugar
2 1/2 C all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 C lowfat buttermilk
1/3 C canola oil
1 TBSP grated lemon zest
2 TBSP lemon juice
2 large eggs
1 large egg white

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pans with paper liners or grease well.
2.  Whisk sugar, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in a large bowl.
3. Whisk buttermilk, oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, eggs and egg white together in a medium bowl.  Add wet mixture to dry, stirring until just blended.
4.  Pour batter into pan(s).  Bake until edges are golden brown and a toothpick inserted in cake comes out clean.  Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then cool completely on wire racks.

Lemon Buttercream
Makes enough for these cupcakes if you pipe with a heavy hand. You can cut in half if you’re frosting with a knife.

1 C. butter – I use unsalted
1 C. vegetable shortening
4-5 C powdered sugar – sifted (measure before sifting)
zest of one lemon
2-3 Tbsp. lemon juice

1.  Cream butter and shortening together until smooth.
2. Add powdered sugar one cup at a time until you get the consistency you want.
3.  Mix in the zest and juice.  If it’s too runny, add a little more sugar.

This entry was posted in Baking, brunch, cupcakes, dessert, lemon, recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Curd.

  1. I love a woman who drinks when she bakes. Especially margs! I love skinny margs (I haven’t tried the mix but I ask for it at bars! all lime none of that sweet stuff please!)

  2. Danielle M says:

    Not the most flattering of photos, but whatevs! It was my birthday! Yay margaritas!

    The cupcakes are DELICIOUS. And I say “are” instead of “were” because we’re still eating them in all their lemony goodness! Can you freeze cupcakes?

    • erin lyn says:

      you can indeed. I would freeze them solid then wrap them tightly in saran wrap (the frosting will be frozen already so it won’t stick too much).

  3. Many years ago…back in ‘my day’, a friend of mine and I baked this cake while drinking lots of Dewar’s and soda…the cake took about 3 hours to bake and wouldn’t stay together when it was finally done…we improvised and made sections of cake and frosted them. Everyone at the get together, for which it was baked, continued to comment on how wonderful and delicious the cake was and wanted everyone wanted to know the recipe and the name of the cake. Knowing fully well that the cake could never be replicated, we just told them we had lost the recipe and told them it was a SCOTCH CAKE!!! MOL!

  4. Sabrina says:

    I love hydrangeas! Your cupcakes are very pretty. Love your blog!

  5. Pingback: Experimental Loaf. | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

