ChaChaCha…Churro

Bahhhh!  I’m so excited I can barely type.  I just got off the phone with my friend Jo.  Jo is getting married in October and asked me if I would be willing to bake cupcakes for her wedding.  This is awesome for so many reasons – 1.  I love to bake for people I love,  2.  I love me a good wedding, 3.  Jo is one of my favorite people ever, and 4.  I’ve wanted a reason to put together a kick ass dessert table since I discovered www.hostessblog.com.

This is also absolutely terrifying for several reasons – 1.  weddings are epically important and I really don’t want to be responsible for screwing up anything about Jo’s day, 2. there are 150 people invited to this soiree.  That’s a lot of freakin’ cupcakes, and 3.  I only pretend to know what I’m doing when it comes to baking and decorating and, well, see number 1.

My excitement outweighs my apprehension, though, and I am completely and totally honored to be part of Jo’s day.  I’m sure there will be lots of trial runs and different flavor tests leading up to the October nuptials.  YAY.

Without further delay, the churro cupcakes I made for a co-worker’s baby shower last week.  I was in a hurry, so I didn’t manage to take pictures of the creation, I suck.  I know.  I’ve gotten over it, you probably should too.

This particular co-worker has an amusingly fanatical need to have “ridges” in his frosting, so I went with a more traditional buttercream rather than the cinnamon frosting because it holds the ridges better.  I aim to please.  Sometimes.

I totally cheated and went to Costco for the churros.  I admit, they would have been way better had I made them by hand, but it was a school night (it has nothing to do with the fact that me and hot oil don’t mix, I swear.  I like spending time in the ER).

Don’t they look good?  Yeah, they were.

I wish you could really see the cute little baby feets design on the cupcake liner, it’s very cute.

I used the cake recipe from mybakingdom.com, but you can use any vanilla cupcake recipe you want and throw some cinnamon in.  You could even use box mix if you were so inclined.  I won’t judge.

Churro Cupcakes
(adapted from: www.mybakingdom.com)
Makes about 18 cupcakes (I think I got 16 out of this)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 (1 stick) cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, at room temperature
1/2 cup milk, at room temperature

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin pan with cupcake liners; set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, or the bowl of a standing mixer, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, until just combined then stir in the vanilla. Sprinkle 1/3 of the flour mixture over the butter mixture and gently stir in until barely combined. Add half of the milk, mixing until just combined. Repeat these steps with the remaining flour mixture and milk, ending with the flour. Do not over mix.

Fill each muffin cup with 2 tablespoons of batter. Bake the cupcakes for 14 to 16 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with one or two crumbs clinging to it. Allow the cupcakes to cool for 2 to 3 minutes, then dip the top of each cupcake into the remaining cinnamon-sugar mixture from the churros to coat it. Allow the cupcakes to cool completely before frosting.

Cinnamon Buttercream Frosting
(adapted from Kiss My Bundt)

3/4 C unsalted butter
3 C sifted powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon (or to taste)
2-2.5 tsp. milk
(use to whatever consistency you want – thicker (less milk) is better for piping)

1.  With an electric mixer, cream butter on medium speed
2.  With mixer on low, slowly add sifted sugar
3.  When sugar is fully incorporated, add zest and extract
4.  Then add your milk by tsp until it reaches the spreading consistency you want.  Thicker (less milk) is better for piping.
5.  Continue to mix on medium until fluffy (if you’re adding color, add it here)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ChaChaCha…Churro

  1. Joanna Jacob says:

    YAyyyyyyyyyy. Please, mama. You are not going to wreck anything and your cupcakes are to die for, and honestly, our mentality is that if anyone complains about cake, of all things, they are out! I am so excited too!!! I can be the baking assistant, a la cupcake wars, for shoveling pans into the oven.

  2. erin lyn says:

    I am going to do such a kick ass job for you and Ian 🙂 I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

