Memorial Day Madness (not really)

Memorial Day is a time to celebrate the brave men and women who have given their lives so that we may enjoy our freedom – freedoms like three day weekends, bbqs, baking, cleaning out the fridge, and combining food products in ways that were not intended by their creators.  At least that’s how I celebrated this weekend.  I didn’t document a whole lot, but I will definitely be recreating the dessert I made for our bbq, so it will get its own post soon.

So, the weekend in [mediocre and sporadic] photos:

Graduation cookies made for a friend’s niece!

Up close.

Gorgeous peonies!

A blurry preview of the awesomely easy dessert.

Did you know they make JUMBO marshmallows now?  I didn’t.  They’re enormous.  I’m in love.

What’s THAT, you ask?  That, friends, is a bacon s’more.  That is what happens when B and our friend Jeremy start brainstorming ways to make “new food” (and we happen to have all of the ingredients just sitting out).

That is Jeremy attempting to express the pleasure his new creation is giving him, with his mouth full.  It’s hard to tell, cuz he’s usually making awesome faces.
 Another shot of the peonies.  They make me happy.

Welcome to summer!

P.S.  Not that you’re stressing out about it, but I have not abandoned the photo of the day endeavor, I’m just easily distracted.  They’ll be back.  I think.

This entry was posted in bacon, Baking, bbq, Chocolate, cooking, dessert, dinner, holidays, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Memorial Day Madness (not really)

  1. Valerianne says:

    The cookies were absolutely delicious! Everyone loved the cookies, well at least everyone who got a chance to try them. As soon as my niece had a taste she took the whole platter to her friends and ate every last morsel. Thank you soooo much for the cookies.

  2. Barb says:

    Ha! Fun.
    Peonies are awesome–too bad they won’t grow here.
    Jeremy is pretty hot. Just sayin’

    • erin lyn says:

      The peonies were from trader joes and they are huge! I’ve never seen ones this pretty!

      I’m sure Jeremy’s wife shares your opinion of him 🙂

  3. I love the color of your peonies! I got a bouquet of white and pinks…just as lovely but i love the wine color of yours! Don’t they smell divine??

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

