A weekend of sugary firsts

Man oh man, this weekend was a baking marathon ’round these parts.  Saturday was a 2 tier chocolate cake and 2 dozen vanilla cupcakes for a 1st birthday party in honor of the cutest little bumblebee I know.  Sunday was Boston Cream Pie cupcakes for the “come fly, say good-bye, and eat pie” party at my trapeze school.  I did a metric sh*t ton of dishes this weekend.  I also consumed the same amount of sugar.  I think I’m still on a sugar high.  It was also a weekend of firsts in this baking adventure o’ my life – pretty successful ones, if I do say so myself.  First chocolate ganache, first pastry cream, first time working with fondant and a new frosting tip.  CRAZY excitement over here in San Diego, people, CRAZY.  You’re jealous.  You know it.  I won’t make you admit it here, don’t worry.

I have no idea where to start with this baking festivus, so I’ll just post some photos of the finished products and go from there.

Vanilla cupcakes with almond vanilla buttercream  – yellow, black and white for the bee theme

Cupcakes with homemade bee decorations – made of fondant & black royal icing. Yes, this is what I do in my free time.  Make fondant bees.  Seriously.

The finished cake – chocolate cake with fresh strawberry filling in each tier and chocolate ganache frosting (and more homemade bees).  I am absurdly proud of this cake.  I show pictures of it to anyone who comes within 6 feet of my iPhone.  The mailman is going to run past my house from now on.

I might be a little proud of the bees too.

Flying High Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes.  More chocolate ganache. The pastry cream is on the inside.

So, that’s the what.  I’ll have to save the how for the next (few) blog post(s)…right now I have to figure out how to get yellow fondant out of dog fur.

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, cooking, dessert, food, fruit, recipes, trapeze. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A weekend of sugary firsts

  1. Emily says:

    Seriously want to eat all of that. Did you make your own fondant?

  2. niki says:

    Will you PLEASE move back? My children are so deprived without your treats. Quite possibly permanently scarred. Thank you.

  3. Pingback: Attack of the sugar bees! | Legally Delish

  4. Jo says:

    almond vanilla buttercream.. what to the what? And I just yelped “BOSTON cream pie!!!” when I saw this post. Brilliant, my friend. Ian thinks your bees are “so cute”. There you go. A 37 year old man thinks your bees are cute. (that’s what she said).

  5. Pingback: Cakes and Pies! Cakes and Pies! | Legally Delish

  6. Gayle says:

    I would be proud too!!! The bees are so cute as is the grass and yuumy looking cake they sit upon! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

