The Hangover Part 2.5 – Austin

Ok, so my weekend in Austin last month did not involve road trips, Mike Tyson, stolen tigers, Thailand or a wealthy Asian man trying to kill me. It did however involve a very chatty Peruvian and his mute friend, some really poor alcohol-related judgment and one WHOPPER of a hangover. And a whole lot of food.

My cousin and I had been talking about planning a girls weekend for three years and never followed through. We’re both terrible procrastinators and terrible decision makers.  I threw Austin, TX out there – I’d always heard great things.  Good food, good weather, good music and half way for both of us with direct flights from Atlanta and San Diego. Done. Though honestly, I knew nothing about Austin other than it’s the “Live Music Capital of the World” and “it’s supposed to be cool”.

That’s still about all I know, though I can confirm the cool factor.  We had fun but it turns out, your mid to late 30s is NOT the appropriate time to test the “don’t mix wine, beer and hard alcohol in the same evening” theory. It shouldn’t even BE a theory at our age.   Just don’t. You’ll regret it (but you won’t regret shelling out the extra bucks to stay at the hotel with the really comfortable beds and the really clean bathrooms).  We may have wasted some of our mini-vacation in wine/vodka/beer induced misery, but when we returned to the land of the living, we made up for it by eating like it was our last weekend on earth.

Without further adieu, my photo montage of a very random, highly amusing, pork product-filled weekend in Texas.

First night’s dinner.  Awesome BBQ.  Started the night with a bottle of red…didn’t eat bbq again that weekend.  Enough said.

Homemade sauces at Lamberts.  Loved the sauces, loved the bottles.

My cousin, midway through the first night.  We’ve moved to beer.  And immediately after that, ceased taking photos for the night.

The next day, when I was half human again, I wandered around taking photos…this is a very popular shot for engagement photos, it seems.

Depending on the wearer, this might prompt a call to CPS, but I still found it amusing.

Um.  OK.

I’m not offended…but I think I’ll stay out here anyway, thanks.

Late night tacos.

Airstream + Cupcakes = awesome.

This made me smile.  I was going to make it into an anniversary card for B.  Then I got lazy.

I can’t remember the name of the place where I ate this, but I ate every bite (except for the tomatoes.  Cooked tomatoes are gross.)  It’s a fried egg, smoked bacon, some fancy delish cheese, house-made bread and a side of chicken apple sausage.  I was not still hung over when I ate this, but had I been it would have been even more delectable.

A restaurant that serves chili peppered popcorn instead of bread before a meal is just awesome (It’s not clear by this blog, but B could attest to my unnatural and unceasing love of popcorn).  If you got to Austin, go here:  www.moonshinegrill.com/

“Green Chili Macaroni with Grilled Chicken, Corn Relish & Green Chili Cream” from Moonshine.  No, I couldn’t eat it all, but I gave it a good try and vowed to attempt something similar at home.

I saw this the first day and declared we wouldn’t leave without eating here.  Frank.

Come and take it.

How could I NOT order the Notorious P.I.G.?

The Notorious P.I.G. – no security detail required.  The picture doesn’t do it justice at all.  I was too hungry to care.

The moral of the story is this: if you haven’t been, you should go to Austin and eat good food and listen to good music and you should not drink like you’re 22 unless you are, in fact, 22 (this does not just apply to Austin).

No photo of the day today, I think we’re a little photo-ed out here.  But I will promise evidence of my first attempt at homemade chocolate eclairs for Mother’s Day.  Pastry intimidates the bejeezus outta me.

This entry was posted in bacon, bbq, dinner, food, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hangover Part 2.5 – Austin

  1. Pingback: The Pop Secret | Legally Delish

  2. i ALWAYS read your blog right before my lunch hours—-i am so freaking hungry, i could eat my keyboard! glad you had good eats in austin!! xxoo

Leave a Reply

