If life gives you lemons…

…make Creamy Lemon Crunch Squares.  But first, is it wrong that I’m really excited about the $8.00 pair of sweatpants I bought this weekend at Target?  They’re light weight, perfect for summer nights, but heavy enough to hide the fact that my butt doesn’t look anything like Carrie Underwood’s.  Or Jennifer Aniston’s.  Or anyone else who gets paid to look awesome for their amazing talent.  AND did I mention they were $8.00? Um. Yeah.  I don’t get out much.

Anyway…B likes to throw last-minute BBQs and this weekend was no exception.  He decided on Thursday at 9 pm he wanted to smoke some pig, grill some veggies and have people over Saturday night.  Clearly I needed to make a dessert, and since I haven’t written a blog in a week, it had to be something I’d never made before.  I saw a photo of these on www.pinterest.com, a totally confusing on-line bulletin board type website that has more pictures of things I want to eat/make/build/own than my brain can process.  I can only look at it for 3 minutes at a time, then I start to twitch.  I only hoped they would be half as good as the photo, because I drool every time I look at it. They were.

Brown sugar and melted butter…is there a better baking ingredient combo?

Crust (I used foil because that pan is kind of nasty – B’s used it on the grill – but I don’t really recommend doing that, it sticks a little).

Creamy lemony filling.  I would use this as a filling for cupcakes too, it was tasty!

I may have had to eat some one to make the pyramid so pretty. Maybe.

You want one, don’t you?

As for the photo of the day…I’ve been avoiding #5 – A picture of your favorite memory because, really?  How on earth do you pick THAT?  Is it a traditional milestone – high school, college or law school graduations? the day B proposed ? our wedding day?
My 16th birthday?  Or 21st or 30th or all the ones in between?  (all spectacular memories, I might add)  Or is it one of the more prosaic memories – the ones that can trigger even deeper bouts of nostalgia when you least expect them –  summer days picking berries at Coner Field with my best friend – coming home stained blue and red from the juice, the ice cream truck treats with the gum ball in the bottom my dad always got me after a Sunday at the beach, my drives cross-country, making dinners in my grandmother’s kitchen in LA?  I have NO idea.  Looking at old pictures just makes it that much more difficult to narrow it down.  So here’s the one I choose:

The reason this represents a favorite memory is long and silly and won’t come out nearly as bad-romance worthy on paper.  The short version is that it’s somewhere on the Jersey Turnpike between Camden, NJ and Darien, CT, circa June 2000, that I fell in love with B and he with me (I didn’t rhyme that intentionally).  Neither of us knew it at the time, but two friends on a spontaneous weekend trip to see Jimmy Buffett would turn into the rest of our lives, for better or for worse, and we would say those vows 9 years later on a beach in California. As a side note, that is probably the ONLY good memory I have involving the Jersey Turnpike.  I hate that road.

Creamy Lemon Crunch Squares
(from: http://www.the-girl-who-ate-everything.com 
P.S. this might be a new favorite blog…)

1 ⅓ cup all-purpose flour
½ teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, slightly softened
1 cup brown sugar (lightly packed)
1 cup oats
1 can (14 ounce) sweetened condensed milk
½ cups lemon juice
zest of 1 lemon
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix butter and brown sugar until well combined.
Sift together flour, salt, and baking powder.
Add oats and flour to butter/sugar mixture and mix to combine.
Press half of oat crumb mixture into the bottom of an 8 x 11 inch pan. You can use a 9 x 13 pan; it will just be thinner.
Mix together condensed milk, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Spread onto the bottom layer of the crumb mixture. The other half of the crumb mixture mix and knead together with clean hands so that the butter that you added earlier gets incorporated then crumble on top of lemon layer but don’t press.
Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown.
Allow pan to sit on counter for 30 minutes after baking. Cut into squares and refrigerate for a couple of hours or until cool.
Serve cool. Makes around one dozen.


This entry was posted in Baking, cooking, dessert, food, lemon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If life gives you lemons…

  1. Danielle M says:

    You make me smile =)

    Those lemon bars turned out FANTASTIC, by the way!

  2. lovemylabs says:

    Love the lemon bars; love the post

  3. Fabulous post! Who does like the New Jersey turnpike? I hate it too! xxoo

Leave a Reply

