S’more please…

This is totally the lazy way to dress up some brownies and impress your friends and neighbors.  We all strive to do that, right?  If you like graham cracker crust, brownies and marshmallows we can be friends you need to make these.  Then again, this is coming from someone who would probably eat chalk if it was sandwiched between graham crackers and marshmallows, so take that with a grain of salt. Seriously though, these are super easy and only require a few steps more than standard issue brownies.

mmmm…butter

You can use a food processor for this part too.  I was too lazy to clean the food processor, so I did it the old-fashioned way.

See?

Graham cracker crust.  Possibly my favorite dessert base.

You can certainly make the brownies from scratch, but these are really freakin’ good, so why bother?

are you as excited as I am?

Crunchy marshmallowy chocolately goodness.  Two warnings:  you will not be able to eat just one AND they’re a kind of a pain in the ass to cut.  The solution?  Just eat it with your hands straight out of the pan.

Drool.

The photo assignment of the day is supposed to be A Picture of My Night.  However, I know what picture I want to take for that, and tonight is just not that night.  “You can’t DO that!” you say?  Bullocks.  It’s my blog and I’ll rearrange the list of pictures you probably don’t care about anyway however I please.  So there. And take that.  Yeah. However, I am also very easily distracted so I will not stray far from the assignments, lest I get totally confused and start posting completely irrelevant photos and abstract stories.  Oh…wait…nevermind.

Number 8 is A picture that makes you laugh. I have A LOT of those, but this one came to mind instantly when I read it and so I’m going with my gut.  She’ll probably kill me for posting this, but this is a photo of one of my best girlfriends, Beth, and her son Tate when he was 4 months old (he’ll be 1 year in July).  Now, Tate is adorable and Beth is a wonderful mom – she’s wanted to have a family as long as I’ve known her and I’ve never seen someone so patient with a baby.  She’s also one of those people who ALWAYS looks perfectly pulled together – which is what makes this picture so damn funny.  This Kodak moment was captured about 2.7 seconds after Tate used a break in our family photo shoot to barf straight down Beth’s cleavage.  It was a shining and hilarious moment, for me, her misfit friend who always looks vaguely like I just got up from a nap.  In a car.  The best part of this picture is actually what you CAN’T see, which is her perfectly awesome, proper southern belle mama watching from a few feet away laughing her ASS off.

I love you, Beth 🙂

S’mores Brownies
(adapted from
www.foodnetwork.com)

Crust (I doubled this for the 9×13 pan)

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 1/2 cups crushed graham cracker crumbs
2 tablespoons sugar
Pinch fine salt

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and heat oven to 325 degrees F. Line an 8 by-8-inch square baking pan with foil so it hangs over the edges by about 1 inch (or do what I did and just butter the heck out of the pan).

Lightly butter the foil with some of the melted butter. Stir the rest of the butter together with the crumbs, sugar, and salt in a medium bowl. Press the crumb mixture evenly over the bottom of the pan. Bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes.

Pour prepared brownie mix on the crust and bake on 350 until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Mine took about 30 mins.  Remove from oven and move rack to top of oven and turn broiler on low.  Top brownies with marshmallows and place under broiler.  Watch the marshmallows closely – they can burn quickly.

 

 

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, cooking, dessert, food, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to S’more please…

  1. Recipe Chefs says:

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Delicious Coffee Rolls

  2. 36x37 says:

    So clever. Now I know what to bring to my next book club meeting.

    (Poor Beth. Great photo, though.)

  3. Charles says:

    Oh wow, these look amazing – Definitely going to try this next weekend. Will have to think of something to use in place of graham crackers though – can’t buy those in France as far as I know.

  4. Seana says:

    Omg these look so good. I might eat a whole pan by myself. Lol And i LOVE the picture and story about Beth. Its true, she always looks amazing.

  5. niki says:

    THANK YOU, BETH! You saved me from… well something embarrassing I’m sure Erin has of me and is just waiting to use. And yet, you still look amazing and Tate is adorable, even from the back, post barfing. 🙂

    So, those S’mores look ridiculous. Looking forward to making them! Maybe for this weekend… Not traditionally an Easter goody, but then, I’m not traditionally anything for Easter. Ok, now I’m really hungry…

    • erin lyn says:

      Oh Nik. It’s cute how innocent you’re acting. Have you not read the whole list of photos? Do you not think you’ll appear at least a few more times?

      Enjoy the S’mores 🙂

  6. Pingback: Fabulous Fourth | Legally Delish

  7. Jamie Pruitt says:

    HOLY COW! These look amazing!

  8. Pingback: Neglect and marshmallow frosting | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

