Adventure, addiction, and the photo of the day

I didn’t bake this weekend.  I did something WAAAY crazier.  I went snowboarding.  To normal people, even those who don’t snowboard, this probably doesn’t seem that terribly crazy.  For me, it’s completely insane.  I don’t do snow sports.  I’m accident prone on flat ground standing still.  I tried skiing exactly three times as a teenager and all three involved some sort of trauma (mental, not physical).  The third and final time I ended up on my back, still in my skis, stuck in a shrubbery under a chair lift, unable to get myself out of my bindings.  It was a banner moment in my adolescence.  Looking back, it’s hilarious, but it definitely made me wary of sports involving snow, hills, and anything strapped to your feet.

Fast forward to 2 weeks ago, when friends announced they were headed to Big Bear to ride for the weekend (look at me, I even have the lingo down).  I hesitated for many reasons that are boring and will just lead to you psychoanalyzing my life, but mainly because I wanted to try snowboarding , yet I’m a giant chickensh*t.  B, knowing full well how gravitationally challenged I can be encouraged me to go for the “social aspect”, but “maybe not for snowboarding”.  However, after consulting two close friends and my sister-in-law (all stellar snowboarders), I was offered gear to borrow and the necessary encouragement to ball up and throw myself down a hill with a board strapped to my feet.  Turns out, I didn’t die…and I actually had a great time.  In fact, I can’t wait to try it again. Who knew?!  There are even photos – and video – but they’re on someone else’s camera, so I’ll have to post them later.

While I was falling down gracefully navigating the bunny hill of Snow Summit, the fodder for my addiction that I ordered before I left arrived:

My name is Erin and I have a cookbook problem.  I admit this.  I am fully aware that I can find a recipe for almost anything I could ever want to make on the interwebs and truth be told, I usually do despite the shelves dedicated to cookbooks in my kitchen.  But there’s just something about the glossy pages and the pretty pictures that lures me in every time.

The choice in cookbooks might make you wonder.  No, I’m not vegan (which should be apparent if you’ve read any thing else I’ve written), nor am I particularly healthy.  The bread book is the sister book to one recommended in a comment right here on this very blog by Hillary of Food Crossing.  I chose this book over the original because B has recently determined he has a gluten sensitivity and I thought this might hold some secrets to making gluten-free bread that doesn’t taste like cardboard.   The vegan cupcake book came very highly recommended on Amazon.  I have a friend with a dairy allergy and try as I might, I haven’t really found any dairy free recipes on the interwebs that I find particularly intriguing.  Plus this one has pretty pictures.    Not sure what the first experiment out of these will be, but I’ll be sure to keep you in the loop.

Last but not least, the photo of the day:

Day 03 – A picture of the cast from your favorite show

As hard as the second movie tried to ruin my love of SATC for me, the TV show is still an all-time fave

 

 

This entry was posted in Baking, cooking, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Adventure, addiction, and the photo of the day

  1. I have been given cookbooks 3 times – once by my uncle – he gave me the Joy of Cooking which is in the basement of my mom’s house, a Mayo Clinic cookbook from my husband which I only glanced at the photos and the Cookery Book from my dear British friend – my excuse for not using that one is the metric units it uses!

    I do praise your ability and patience to cook! I can’t wait to hear about the gluten & lactose free goodies!

    xxoo

  2. PS – I actually bought a ticket with a layover in London on my way to the States so I could buy the latest series of Sex & the City on DVD!!

  3. 36x37 says:

    Congrats on your successful trip down the slopes! I’m with you…cold plus slippery surfaces = scary. Glad you faced the demons and had a blast!

  4. Pingback: No butter? No problem! | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

