Grilled cheese, the sequel

Howard’s bread survived the weekend, but only because we weren’t home much, otherwise it would have been hoovered like Molson hoovers kibble.  I’ve been thinking about the pulled pork grilled cheese since I inhaled the last bite.  After much plotting and planning (and blankly staring at the pathetic contents of my fridge), I came up with this genius concoction:

Shredded chicken breast, chopped pepperocinis, and shredded mexican blend cheese with a buffalo blue cheese dip on the side – I have a slight addiction to Franks Red Hot buffalo wing sauce.  I mixed the cheese into the chicken so it wouldn’t all fall out of the sandwich and grilled it up.  Mmmmm.  These combos are starting to make me want to have fresh bread in the house EVERY DAY.  The only think that would have made this sandwich more righteous would have been swapping the mexi cheese blend for real blue cheese in the mix, rather than blue cheese dressing on the side.  Either way, it was still reduced to crumbs in a matter of minutes.

On to the photo selection of the day:
#2 – A picture of you and the person you have been closest with the longest

This was not a hard choice.  I suppose both of my wonderful parents are in the running for this, seeing as I’ve known them for almost 35 years (gasp! the horror!), and there’s nothing closer than family – at least with us.  But when it comes to my gut reaction when I read assignment number 2, it’s Niki.  Friends since second grade (for me…3rd for her…because we’re close enough that I can use this opportunity to publicly point out that she is and always will be the old one), our friendship outlasted the pettiness of elementary school and junior high (even though she was remarkably cooler than me, she always included me. Her mother might have made her, but she’s such a good friend she’d never tell me), her abandoning me going to boarding school, one very cold trip to Greece in college, countless heartaches, just as many dreams come true, graduations, weddings, and a LOT of Beastie Boys songs.

No, this was not a hard choice.  However, picking one photo is.  Picking one photo that she wouldn’t kill me for posting is even harder.  Finding one that doesn’t involve getting my butt off the couch to find a CD or scanner is nearly impossible.  So in true lazy style that Niki will appreciate, I am stealing one from her facebook page.  I even talked myself out of doing a series of photos of one particular face she likes to make.  Now that’s love.

 

Yes, that's a Care Bear

 

In case you’re wondering where all the baking went, have no fear.  It will be back tomorrow after I contort myself into a human pretzel at yoga.  If I can still stand.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grilled cheese, the sequel

  1. Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all. ~Harriet van Horne

  2. I like the mix of food and life’s adventures!! xxoo

  3. niki says:

    Your restaurant should serve grilled cheese and a baked good o’ the day. It should be decorated with bad photos of you and me, maybe our stuffed animal collection. The juke box should only play Beasties all day. THAT is some kitsch for ya.
    You’re welcome.

  4. 36x37 says:

    Wait. Is that a Cheer Bear I see in the photo?

    Hold on to that friendship. Any relationship that can make it through the rough waters of junior high is surely a keeper.

  5. Jo says:

    Dude.. what with B’s gluten allergy (to be determined?), what is the status of mac and cheese in your house? Rice pasta?

    • erin lyn says:

      B’s not a big pasta eater to begin with, so the status of grilled cheese is the same as it was before…more for ME. 🙂 but yeah, maybe I’ll try rice pasta sometime too. My friend Erin’s made her mac and cheese with rice pasta before and it’s actually pretty good. Sometimes B thinks he’s lactose intolerant too. THAT is just crazy talk.

Leave a Reply

