Breaking Bread

And fancy potatoes. Not at the same time.  That’s a lot of starch.

Yesterday, my co-worker Howard brought me this:

It didn’t have a large hunk missing out of it when he gave it to me.   That was a product of my impatience (and unwillingness to walk down the hall to find a knife).

I am not a big bread eater – unless it’s homemade or really fresh.  Then I become a ravenous bread-eating machine.  It’s terrifying to those around me and the seams of my pants.  This is why I don’t make fresh bread regularly (really, I swear that’s the reason).  Turns out Howard is a kick-ass baker.  I gladly and thankfully accepted his wares and refrained from eating half the loaf at my desk only by reminding myself that if I waited until I got home, the bread could become this:

This was dessert.  Notice that B sized bite out of it?  Yeah, he won’t be doing THAT again.

This may or may not have been dinner tonight:

This, just in case you’re wondering (and you know you are), is the bread grilled nice and crispy, sandwiching some homemade pulled pork, 2 slices of melty provolone cheese and bbq sauce.  You didn’t miss anything, though.  It was awful.  Really.

Thank you for the fab bread Howard – it will last until AT LEAST tonight Sunday in our house.

On to the promised potatoes – this was a night last week (I think) that started out like any other:

B: “What’s do you want to do for dinner?”
Me: “I don’t know.  What can we make out of what we have?”
B: “What do we have?”
Me: “I don’t know.   Molson, move.  I can’t open the fridge with your butt in the way.”

I don’t remember what else went with this meal, but we had potatoes from our veggie co-op begging to be used, so I determined that roasted potatoes were side dish of choice.  I unsuspectingly started  chopping these cute little mini red fingerling potatoes…

to discover – what’s this!? – they’re PINK! On the inside!

I’ve never seen pink potato guts!  Clearly I need to get out more because I found this fascinating enough to blog about.  I loved my pink potato surprise (that sounds vaguely dirty).  Even better, they tasted good too!

Regardless of the color though, these are an easy, healthy side starch.  Preheat oven to 400, chop potatoes into approx. 1″ pieces.  In a bowl, combine potatoes, a few tablespoons olive oil, a few pinches of sage and rosemary (if dried, a few stems finely chopped if fresh), 3 cloves of garlic (chopped fine if you want to eat it, sliced or whole if you just want the flavor).  Spread in a baking pan in a single layer and roast for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and serve.

This entry was posted in Baking, cheese, cooking, dinner, food, healthy, meatless, potato, recipes, side dish, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Breaking Bread

  1. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti

  2. Howard Springsteen says:

    Thanks for the props. I want to continue my research into the perfect bread. I am also going to be trying another desert this week. It amazes me that the store I (used to?) go to has like 4 choices of AP flour only.

    Hopefully when I open my Inn I will have many recipes I can serve my patrons. HA!

    Just in case anyone wants the recipe for the bread.

    1 egg
    4 1/2 cups baker’s flour
    1/3 cup powdered milk
    1 teaspoon salt
    4 ounces wheat bran
    1 package dry yeast
    4 ounces yogurt
    1-ounce honey
    1-ounce butter, melted
    2 1/2 cups warm water
    Directions

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

    Beat egg thoroughly and set aside.

    Mix flour, powdered milk, salt, wheat bran and yeast in a large bowl. Mix yogurt, honey, butter and water in a separate bowl. Add wet ingredients to dry. Knead mixture for approximately 7 minutes until dough is no longer wet but smooth.

    Let rise until doubled in size.

    Remove dough from bowl and invert it onto a lightly floured surface. Divide dough into 3 equal parts. Pat dough to make 3 equal strips approximately 10 to 12 inches long and about 1 to 1 1/2-inches thick. (I don’t do this part. I just split into two and make two regular loaves)

    Join the ends of each bread strip and pinch all 3 together. Begin braiding, lapping each strip 1 at a time over the other. Pinch the ends together. Tuck the pinched ends underneath the braided bread. Line a baking sheet with parchment or waxed paper. Place the bread on baking sheet. With pastry brush, brush loaf evenly with beaten egg. Allow dough to rise until doubled in size. Bake until lightly brown, 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool on a rack.

    This recipe is very wet as shown above. I have not found the right amount of the wet ingredients to use, but then I have only made it twice. I am going to try to mix the yogurt, honey and butter together and add that to the dry and slowly add the water until it comes together. Last time I mixed in all of the water at once and had to add a ton of extra flour.

  3. Hillary says:

    Erin – that sandwich looks good enough to lick the screen. I didn’t though… I swear.

    Erin & Howard – have you tried the Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day book? It has literally changed my life, my mom’s life, my friends’ lives and her friends’ lives. Really if I could start a cult I would. I haven’t bought a loaf of bread in over a year. You whip up a bucket full of easy no-knead dough (as easy as flour, yeast, water, salt for the basic French bread recipe), let it rise, throw it in the fridge for up to 2 weeks and rip off loaf-sized hunks to bake whenever you feel like it. You get that perfect, crusty, golden bread. It is SO easy.

    • erin lyn says:

      It was durn tasty, for sure. I now have pulled chicken (I like shredded meat products, it seems) and might have to recreate with cheddar and verde sauce tomorrow night.

      I have NOT heard of that book, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be finding it on Amazon in the next 10 minutes. Sounds like the best thing ever!

  4. Pingback: Grilled cheese, the sequel | Legally Delish

  5. Pingback: Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

