Love (and cupcakes) make the world go ’round

This is way overdue, but these cupcakes were too good not to post.  When you work in a big company as I do, they have committees for everything.  Mine has, among others, a “fun committee” (which I’m on. I’m fun. Ask me.) and a “safety committee”.  For reasons I’m still not entirely clear on, the committees joined forces to host a joint Presidents’ Day/Valentines celebration.  What’s more fun than safely discussing the romantic notions of former leaders of this great nation?  Why, doing all that with cupcakes, of course!

I was sick of chocolate (yes, I said that), so I branched out and made a version of the Raspberry Ripple Cupcakes in my Cupcake Heaven cookbook.  I didn’t have raspberry jelly, but I did have a plethora of this:

I say a plethora because I have not one, but two of these 32 oz jars.  B is not allowed to go to Costco unsupervised anymore.  It made a worthy substitute for raspberry jelly, even if I don’t know what a marionberry actually is (other than my best friend’s mom.  Yes, that’s actually her name).

But I digress…I also didn’t feel like making the fruity pink icing the cookbook called for, so I made white chocolate buttercream instead.  In my humble opinion, they didn’t suck.

Creamed butter and sugar

Sifting in the flour

Stirred up (and slightly watered down for consistency) marionberry jam

Ice cream scoop = easiest way to get thick batter into muffin cups

Swirled up and ready for the oven

mmm….

Dollop of white chocolate buttercream finishes them off

Being the obsessive compulsive hopeless romantic I am, I made chocolate chip brownie hearts to celebrate the safely romantic presidents’ day (from a mix, I just added the chocolate chips).  Yeah, I know…but they were tasty (and kinda cute).

Raspberry (marionberry) Ripple Cupcakes
(adapted from Cupcake Heaven)
makes 12 cupcakes

1 stick unsalted butter, room temp
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 cup self rising flour
2 Tbsp raspberry jelly (I used a bit more, I wanted the flavor)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
Beat butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy.
Add eggs one at a time, until completely blended
Sift in flour and fold in (don’t beat – it will make the cupcakes dense)

Put the jelly in a bowl and stir until runny
(I added a tsp or 2 of hot water to thin the jam)
Spoon dollops of batter into lined muffin cups, using about half of the batter and making a slight indent in each cup.
Drop about 1/4 tsp of jam in each indentation.
Cover the jam with remaining cake mixture.
Use a toothpick to swirl the jam in the batter.
Bake about 18 mins or until risen and golden, cool on a wire rack.

White Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
(from www.food.com)

1 cup butter, softened (no subs)
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
6 ounces white chocolate or 6 ounces white baking bar, melted and cooled
3 -5 tablespoons whipping cream or 3 -5 tablespoons half-and-half

In a large bowl, beat the butter and confectioners sugar at low speed until fluffy.
Add in melted and cooled white chocolate and whipping cream (start with 3 tablespoons and add in more to achieve desired consistency).
Beat on high speed for 3-4 minutes, scraping the bowl with a spatula.

 

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, cooking, dessert, fruit, recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Love (and cupcakes) make the world go ’round

  1. Jo says:

    Dude. send me some cupcakes. Sincerely, Jo, who loves marshmallows more than a lot of things in this world. That is a hint, in case you were thinking, “but what kind of cupcake should I send?” You can use the UPS beta version that Nikki mentioned.

    Thanks in advance. 🙂

  2. 36x37 says:

    Those are absolutely gorgeous. I wish my office had a fun committee, as well as someone who actually knew how to bake.

    Doesn’t the safety committee sound awful? Do they have to wear vests and safety hats during fire drills?

    • erin lyn says:

      HA. We haven’t had a fire drill in the 8 months I’ve been there, but there are vests and hard hats (yes, hard hats) throughout the department. They also repeatedly tell us not to walk and text, which in my case actually IS a safety hazard!

  3. Danielle M says:

    It has been entirely too long since I came over to “help” you bake. When are we doing that again?

  4. niki says:

    Will you wear a hard hat the next time you bake?

    And send me some of whatever you decide to send Jo. Personally, I’m all about these marionberry bad boys (marionberry preserves happen to be my fav and not just b/c it’s my mother’s name) but if you’re making something w/marshmallows for Jo, I’ll be happy to take those too instead.

Leave a Reply

