It’s nacho potato!

Get it?  Nacho potato…Not’cho potato.  Oh, never mind.

A few weeks ago, B declared that “we” should institute Meatless Monday.  This coming from a man who has spent most of his adult life in search of the world’s best chicken wing and thinks cow is a food group.  I am pretty sure he got this idea from a magazine he was reading in the can, but I know better than to question a declaration that works to my advantage.  The only drawback to Meatless Monday is that it is immediately preceded by Lack of Planning Sunday.  I’ve found that planning a satisfying meatless meal generally involves slightly more thought than pulling a hunk of animal protein out of the fridge.

I’ve been somewhat obsessed with twice baked potatoes lately.   My “plan” was to pick up some soy chorizo sausage (don’t mock it til you’ve tried it.  I haven’t, but I’m told it’s good) and throw that together with broccoli and cheese, however the grocery store foiled my plan.  That’s what I get for shopping at a store called Ralphs.  Sooo…I needed another form of protein that didn’t come from a source with a face.  Beans!  Beans to the rescue!  Beans + cheese + other stuff (jalapenos, green onions, chilis) = Nacho Potatoes!  I’m a genius.  No, really, I am.  I think this might even qualify as a healthy recipe, per Jackie’s request.  Who knew?

So…I took some of these:

And chopped up some of these….

(those are green onions and pickled jalapenos that look like olives but are not.  That would be really gross.)

Threw in a handful of this…Smushed it all up in a bowl with the middle of the baked potato, some chopped steamed broccoli (it was already made from the aforementioned theory on dinner), salt and pepper and made these…

Hooray for tasty creativity.  Dinner was served.

P.S. That scary looking green stuff on the side is kale, which we happened to have in the house.  Don’t be scared, it’s kind of like crunchy spinach.  I chopped it up, sautéed it until it was soft with about a tsp of olive oil, a garlic clove, salt, pepper, crushed red pepper flakes (all to taste) and a squeeze of lime juice.

As for a “recipe” for the potato…here’s what I did, but you could do just about anything that suits your fancy (including adding olives, but, really, don’t.)

Bake 3 medium potatoes (stab with a fork a few times and bake at 400 for about 40 minutes or until they feel done.

Let them cool a bit, slice in half and scoop out the middles, saving about a 1/4 inch shell.

In a bowl, mix the potato guts, a handful of shredded cheese, one can of black beans (drained and rinsed), some chopped jalapenos, chopped green onions ((I used about 1/4 c each), 1.5 c steamed broccoli (chopped fine – you won’t even know it’s there), and a small can of green chilies.  Squish it all up and put it back in the potato shells.  Top with some more shredded cheese.  Bake on 350 until cooked through (about 15-20 mins).  Silently gloat about how you’re saving the world one meatless meal at a time.  Or skip that last step and put bacon on top.  I won’t tell.

This entry was posted in bacon, cheese, cooking, dinner, food, healthy, meatless, potato, recipes, Uncategorized, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s nacho potato!

  1. 36x37 says:

    Fabulous! This looks like the perfect appetizer for Super Bowl Sunday. Now I’m excited. 🙂

  2. Jackie says:

    Ok that was really funny! I can’t wait to make them… well…that’s not true! I can’t wait for you to make them again and come to your house to try! You know how I role.

  3. Pingback: Wait! These aren’t carrots! | Legally Delish

  4. Pingback: Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

