Baby got Bundt

That’s probably not very original, but it makes me laugh.  I have no idea why bundt cakes make me so happy, but they do.  Add to that the joy that miniature versions of normal sized food brings me and there was no way I could resist acquiring mini bundt pans.  It was going to happen eventually, and co-worker birthday request #5 pushed me over the edge.

Warren told me that the only thing he’d ever wanted, and the only thing that would make his birthday memorable and complete was red velvet mini bundt cakes with cream cheese frosting and chocolate chips – how could I NOT buy the pans to fulfill my friend’s ONLY birthday wish?  Ok, maybe he really said “hmmm…maybe something red velvet”.  Whatever.  I got my pans.  and Warren got something red velvet.  win win, I say.

This either looks gross or like a really cool science experiment, depending on your thoughts on mixing liquids of varying viscosity.  I think you can figure out which camp I’m in, since I posted the photo.

Sifted dry goods.

I only ate half a bundt worth a spoonful of batter before they went in the oven.  Yay me.

Cutest. Food. Ever. [Side note – B came home just as these little beauties had been flipped on to the cooling racks and interrupted my happy mini bundt dance of joy.  He might be leaving me shortly.]

Q: What, pray tell, is better than THIS combination??

A:  THIS.  This is better.  This is that, with sugar and vanilla added.  And there’s nothing better than this.  [p.s. yes, it’s sitting on my stove burner, but only because there’s better light there.  Do not mistakenly assume there is any actual cooking involved in the making of said frosting. That would be messy.]

Ta FREAKIN Da!!  I’m doing the happy dance again just looking at the picture.  B isn’t home.

Red Velvet Bundt Cake w/Cream Cheese Frosting
(from the Kiss My Bundt cookbook)

1-1/4 cups vegetable oil
1 cup buttermilk
2 eggs, room temperature
2 tablespoons red food coloring
1 teaspoon white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
1 3/4 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon fine salt
1 tablespoon high-fat cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark left over from co-worker birthday #2)

1.  Heat the oven to 350 degrees.
2. Using an electric mixer (I used a stand mixer), combine the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar and vanilla. Beat on medium speed for 1 minute.
3. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and cocoa powder.
4. Add dry ingredients to the wet 1/2 cup at a time. Do this slowly so that the batter doesn’t develop clumps.
5. Pour the batter into pans that have been greased and floured. The recipe will make one (10 to 12 cup) bundt cake or 12 mini bundt cakes.
6. Bake until a cake tester or toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean and the cake doesn’t jiggle when shaken, about 45 minutes (I baked about 25 for the minis).
7. Cool the cake in the pan for at least 15 minutes. Then invert onto a serving plate. If cake resists, cool for an additional 15 minutes. Cool completely before frosting, at least 1 hour for a single large bundt cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting

8 ounces cream cheese, softened
4 ounces unsalted butter, softened
2 cups powdered sugar (measured then sifted)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. With an electric mixer on medium speed, cream the cream cheese and butter until soft and completely smooth, at least two minutes.
2. Turn the mixer speed to low and slowly add the powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time, making sure to scrape down any frosting stuck to the sides of the bowl.
3. Add the vanilla extract.
4. Mix on medium speed until the frosting is smooth and fluffy.

Click here to find out more!

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, Cream Cheese, dessert, food, recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Baby got Bundt

  1. CUTEST cakes EVER! Eat two for the gluten-free me!! xxoo

  2. lovemylabs says:

    Okay, admittedly I am not a big “red velvet” fan – I just don’t get the whole deal around it. However, these mini-bundt-red-velvety-magical-cream-cheesy-mounds-of-delishesness were amazing. I got to the office later that morning and my co-workers were kind enough to save a cake for me. I will be forever in their debt for doing so. The little cakettes were moist (not a fan of that word, but a fan of the meaning) and just the right sweetness. The cream cheese frosting was light and with a hint of tanginess. Ah-Ma-Zing! Thank you again for testing your recipes on us. We welcome them any time you are up for the challenge. I am a fan!

  3. Warren says:

    These were so amazing and delish! Thanks, Erin for making my birthday so spay-shell!

  4. niki says:

    (I’m with you, LoveMyLabs…) I’ve never understood the almost cult-like attraction to all things red velvet. However, I am MORE than willing to taste one of these little bits of snazzy-ness to see if I can jump on the bandwagon! 😀

    E ~ do you think they’ll hold if you overnight me one?!

  5. Pingback: Baby bundts for Baby P | Legally Delish

  6. Pingback: Love, vows and a whole lotta cupcakes | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

