On top of spaghetti…

…all covered with sauce. I lost my poor meatball…

Ok, I’ll stop singing.  You’re welcome.  A while back Rick made a request for multi meat meatballs in tomato sauce.  Tonight’s dinner was an attempt at fulfilling that request, however the only ground meat I had was turkey, so I’m going to call this half a request and give Rick an IOU for the real thing (however, these were really good, so I don’t think I’d change a whole lot other than the meat).

My favorite part of this recipe is the origin.  After reading the blog, a friend sent me an email with nothing but his favorite meatball recipe.  From memory.  From his iPhone.  That is a man who loves his meatballs.  In a subsequent email it came out that this recipe came from a friend of a friend of an Italian girl he dated once.  Well then, nothing but specific sources cited on this blog.  It’s good to know something good came out of that relationship!

Turkey, cheese, eggs, bread crumbs, spices…mix with your hands.  Personally, I wear rubber gloves because the squishy meat totally skeeves me out.

My meatball army ready for the oven

When making tomato sauce of any kind, use San Marzano  if you can find them.  They really do make a difference.  I promise.

Tomato paste in a tube is the answer to your sauce-making prayers.  No more partially used tomato paste cans kicking around in the back of the fridge.  I know, you can sleep better now.  Again, you’re welcome.

mmm…spicy red sauce…

Spaghetti squash is the new spaghetti, don’tcha know?  Seriously, this is my new favorite vegetable.  B isn’t much of a pasta eater, so we had our meatballs and sauce over this.  How to cook a spaghetti squash:  stab repeatedly with a fork.  Stick in microwave for 10 minutes.  Let cool (otherwise it’s like opening up a big pod of lava).  Cut in half lengthwise.  Remove seeds.  Peel the rest into a bowl as above and eat with just about anything.  Except peanut butter.  That might be gross.

The finished product.  Can someone please tell me why my pictures are all FREAKING yellow?  Using the flash doesn’t help, it just makes them washed out.  Seriously.  It didn’t taste yellow, I swear.

Next up?  Co-worker birthday request #3 and B using a blowtorch.  In the kitchen.

Baked Meatballs
(as adapted from some girl who knew a girl who dated a friend of mine)
(this is how I made it…the original called for
ground meat other than turkey)

1.5 lbs ground turkey (I used 93/7)
2 eggs
3/4 cup breadcrumbs
1/4 cup grated Parmesan Cheese
2 garlic cloves, grated
parsley
salt & pepper
crushed red pepper (if you like them spicy – I do)

Mix all that up in a bowl, roll into balls – I made mine 1.5 oz each and they were about 2 bites worth per meatball.  Cut in half if you want cocktail size.  Place on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes (25-30 if you’re going to skip the next step).  I like my meatballs browned, so I finished them in a cast iron skillet for about 5-7 minutes, turning frequently.

Arrabiata Sauce
(Made up as I went along, but loosely follows just about every sauce recipe out there)

1 large can (28ish oz) San Marzano tomatoes
(preferably crushed, but you can do that part yourself)
2 tsp olive oil
1 small red onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
1/2 c. red wine
2-3 tsp Italian Seasoning
red pepper flakes to taste (I used about 1 Tbsp, but that’s HOT)
3-4 tbsp fresh basil  (used 3-4 tsp dried if you don’t have fresh)
balsamic vinegar to taste
1 Tbsp sugar

1.  Saute onion and garlic in oil until soft
2.  add all other ingredients, stir well
3.  Simmer, uncovered, about 15 mins over low heat
4.  If sauce gets too thick but isn’t quite ready,
you can add a little water and allow to cook down

Manga!

This entry was posted in cooking, dinner, recipes, Uncategorized, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On top of spaghetti…

  1. I am going to print this one!! LOVE meatballs!! – since I can’t eat cheese or bread – I will eliminate the cheese even though Izzy is obsessed with cheese and I will use gluten-free bread crumbs (they really aren’t that bad!!)….I´ll tell you how they turn out…

    xxoo

    • erin lyn says:

      I’m not sure how you survive without cheese, but i’m sure these would be just as good without. I didn’t really taste the cheese, I think it was more for texture, but I’m not sure how much it adds. Can’t wait to hear how yours came out!

  2. Howard says:

    I think the pictures come out yellow because of the lighting in your kitchen. Different types of light bulbs have a different “color” of light. I am in no way, shape or form a photographer, but have some knowledge from my electronics degree. A basic photography book may explain it, or someone who has more info than me. If you want them to come out a different color, try a different type of light (incandescent in a lamp close by, or with one of those reflector thingies a picture taker would use). 🙂

Leave a Reply

