To resolve or not to resolve?

 

Yes I’ll make a resolution,
That I’ll never make another one
Just enjoy this ride on my trip around the sun
– Jimmy Buffett (Trip Around the Sun)

I know, I know.  It’s an over used theme.  Forgive me, I haven’t cooked anything worth writing about since Christmas.  I, like most people, have made hundreds of resolutions over the years – usually vague statements of grand goals that are, by design, a path to failure.  “Be a better person”, “give more, buy less”, “eat healthy”.  Then there are the Bridget Jones-style specific ones that just set me up for disappointment: “loose 10 lbs”, “exercise every day”, “read 3 new books a month” (that one I actually found in an old journal and laughed out loud when I read it).

My problem isn’t so much the resolving, it’s the way I do it.  It’s either unrealistic or un-quantifiable.  But even if I was better at making the actual resolutions, I’d have to have them tattooed on my hand in order to remember them keep them.  I can’t remember what I needed at the store if I leave the list at home, much less some mantra I made up for my year after the 3rd glass of champagne.  No matter how good my intentions are, I am very easily distracted by shiny things, birds, and the occasional napkin blowing down the sidewalk – how can I expect to remember I’m supposed to be systematically pacing myself through Anna Karenina?

So this year I resolve not to resolve but to just enjoy this ride on my trip around the sun (and maybe lose that last 10 lbs).

To close out 2010, here are some of my favorite photos from the year.  Happy 2011!!

A marmoset monkey in Costa Rica – April 2010

Sunset on the beach in Jaco, Costa Rica.  That’s B in the photo.

Four Vines Vineyard Estate the morning one of my best friends got married in May

A July sunset from my backyard.

La Jolla Shores – August

Someone told me this guy is a famous surfer.  I just thought he was awesome.

My favorite (now) 2 year old with a little dessert on his face (he’s saving it for later)

Flying trapeze – October (yes, that’s me)

The scoreboard for the most exciting college football game I have ever seen – Oct.

Wine and fire (and great friends) – North Carolina – October

I have other favorites, but they have people in them, and I have yet to get anyone’s permission to put their face on my blog…I feel somewhat compelled to do that.

Next up?  Tonight’s pulled pork/mac and cheese/comfort food NYE feast!  Cheers!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in cooking, healthy, trapeze, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To resolve or not to resolve?

  1. niki says:

    I’d rather be in Jaco. Wanna go?

  2. Pingback: Ta-ta twenty-eleven | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

