and…FAIL

Epic fail, actually.  Last night marked the beginning of the what was supposed to be a successful and impressive cooking/baking extravaganza.  On the bill of fare, in order: a going away party/Thanksgiving potluck at work, a dinner party, a baby shower, and Thanksgiving dinner for 8.5 (there will be a 2 year old in attendance…I don’t think he eats that much), and maybe, just maybe, Rick’s request for multi-meat meatballs.  Yes, I know I’m completely insane an over achiever.  But alas, the extravaganza is off to a disappointing start.  I was SO excited to make the Spiced-Pumpkin Cupcake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Icing Center recipe I found on www.wilton.com.  The batter looked great (even if I couldn’t take a decent photo of it):

The filling looked (and tasted) amazing:

The whole house smelled like spicy pumpkin pie.  I was very excited.  And then, this:

SAD!  Now, don’t think I didn’t try four one of these sweet little failures “just to see”.  They’re still darn tasty, if a bit goopy, but I couldn’t bring myself to feed them to my coworkers at a potluck (I did, however, still bring them to work this morning…it’s amazing what people in offices will eat).  Luckily, I had some brown bananas on hand, so I whipped up banana muffins and topped them with the remaining frosting.  It will not be the same.  *sniff*

Needless to say, I did not get the cupcakes for the baby shower baked last night, so stay tuned for the continuation of the culinary festivus.  This one matters…I’m getting paid to make these.  Not gonna lie – I’m a little intimidated after last night’s soul crushing results.

Here’s the recipe for the pumpkin cream cheese goodies.  If you make them work, please tell me what you did!!  Oh, and even if you don’t make these, MAKE THIS FROSTING.  Put it on EVERYTHING.  You won’t be sorry.

Spiced-Pumpkin Cupcake with
Cinnamon Cream Cheese Filling

(adapted from www.wilton.com)

  • 3/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 2 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 (15 oz.) can solid pack pumpkin
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 1/3 cups flour
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt

Cream Cheese Filling

Cream Cheese Filling
In food processor fitted with steel blade or mixer, beat cream cheese and butter until light and fluffy. Beat in remaining ingredients; beat until smooth and creamy.

Cupcakes
Preheat oven to 350°F. Place baking cups in muffin pan. Cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Combine pumpkin and buttermilk. Mix flour, pumpkin spice, cinnamon, ginger, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with pumpkin mixture, mixing thoroughly after each addition. Fill each cavity half full. Place a tablespoon of cream cheese filling on top of batter. Top with remaining batter.

Bake 20-25 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Makes 24 cupcakes.

This entry was posted in Baking, cooking, fall. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to and…FAIL

  1. niki says:

    those sound phenomenal! next time, just mail them to me. you know I’ll eat them!

Leave a Reply

