Itty Bitty Cabbage

That’s what I think of every time I see brussel sprouts.  I was never that kid who hated brussel sprouts or tried to feed them to the dog when my parents weren’t looking (which is good since I didn’t have a dog and that would have been tough to explain).  As an adult – I use this term loosely, of course – it never really occurs to me to make them.  Then I saw this recipe on www.howsweeteats.com and couldn’t wait to try it.  It didn’t hurt that the recipe has bacon in it.  Never does.

After my post soliciting requests, Jackie P. asked for healthy recipes.  I don’t know if that was technically a request, but I’m going to treat it as one and count this as request #2 (even if it does include the aforementioned pork product)…because I can.

the food processor is a wonderful invention

I should come clean here…I don’t measure 96.83% of the time when cooking (baking is a different story).  I use recipes as rough guidelines.  This recipe called for 2 cups of brussel sprouts.  I used the whole bag because I wanted leftovers…and really, I had no idea what else I would do with the little green cabbages.  So I sort of guestimated on the other ingredients…I’ll post the “official” recipe just incase you’re more inclined to follow directions.  Oh, I also threw in some habanero sauce because it seemed like a good idea at the time.

This doesn’t look as good as a.) it tasted or b.) it actually looked.   I need better lighting in my kitchen.  That aside, I highly recommend you add this to your repertoire of green things.  Green things with bacon.  The best kind of green things.  Personally, I think it would also be good with some spicy red pepper flakes and soy sauce in lieu of balsamic.

For those of you who think brussel sprouts are the foul red-headed step-child of the vegetable family, give this a shot with broccoli…I’m willing to bet that would be tasty too.

Shredded Sprouts Salad
(pilfered & adapted from http://www.howsweeteats.com)

serves 1-2

2 cups whole brussels sprouts
1/2 clove of garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 tablespoon butter (I used olive oil)
1 slice bacon, fried and crumbled
(I baked it in the oven because I don’t like cleaning the grease off the stove top)
1/2 ounce grated asiago cheese
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
Chili flakes or hot sauce to taste

I chopped the stubby bottom parts off, but I don’t think it’s necessary if you want to skip it.

Add sprouts to a food processor and pulse to the general consistency of cole slaw…or really to whatever consistency appeals to you.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and shredded sprouts, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and saute for about 5-7 minutes, or until sprouts are browning. Add vinegar while stirring and make sure sprouts are all coated (this is where I added the habanero sauce too). Saute for another 1-2 minutes.  Remove from heat.

Top with bacon and cheese and dig in.

(I think this only counts as a healthy recipe if you don’t eat the remaining 5 strips of bacon you cooked “for later” while cooking the sprouts).  I have another official request – co-worker birthday #2 – coming up later in the week, but I’ll try to get another healthy recipe under my belt first.  I will also try not to get all my recipes from http://www.howsweeteats.com, but every time I log on, she’s made something else I want to try!

 

This entry was posted in bacon, cooking, healthy, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Itty Bitty Cabbage

  1. Emily says:

    I make a brussel sprout salad with lemon juice, olive old and grated parmesanio reggioano, but I shave the sprouts ultra-thin with a sharp knife. I think I’ve seen other recipes that suggest using a mandolin to achieve the same effect. Regardless, when they’re shaved, the salad come out really pretty, almost airy. The only drawback is it takes freakin’ forever to shave them one-by-one.

Leave a Reply

