I take requests…

Earlier today, after reading my inaugural post and humoring me like any good friend would, my friend Rick told me he was going to post comments with requests for things to cook.  I’m pretty sure he was kidding – particularly since he lives 3000 miles away – but I thought about, and I think he’s a bloody genius!  In fact I already had a request on deck for baking tonight, so it was great timing.  So bring it on, folks!  I’m up to any reasonable challenge.  And by reasonable I mean anything that doesn’t involve ingredients that totally skeeve me out.  I will take your requests (and post the results) in the order in which…well, let’s be honest…I’ll do them in whatever order I please.  But I WILL do them.  Partially because I like trying new things and partially because it’s a great way to keep this blog from ending up in the proverbial pile.

So, without further rambling, on to Request No. 1…chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting for a co-worker’s birthday.  His choice.  He really likes chocolate.

I have to confess, I committed the cardinal sin of baking tonight.  I used a box cake mix (insert looks of shock and horror here)!  I made this decision after the following series of events:  1. I immediately changed into brightly colored pajama pants when I got home from work, 2. I realized I was almost out of all-purpose flour.  I made the executive decision that I had neither the desire to change my pants OR search for a recipe that used whole wheat flour.  Because who makes whole wheat chocolate cupcakes?  That’s just silly.  I did doctor the mix to make myself feel better – I added bourbon vanilla extract, a little cinnamon and some sea salt.  Oh, and chocolate chips.  They make everything better.  The frosting is all from scratch though.  If you like chocolate frosting, you will love this.  I don’t love chocolate frosting and I thought this was pretty damn good.

chocolatey goodness

Rich Chocolate Frosting:
(adapted from http://www.allrecipes.com)

3/4 cup butter (no substitutes), softened
3-1/3 cups confectioners’ sugar
3/4 cup and 3 tablespoons baking cocoa
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons milk

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter. Gradually beat in confectioners’ sugar, cocoa and vanilla. Add enough milk until frosting reaches spreading consistency.

Hopefully my co-workers will forgive me; for I have sinned.

This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I take requests…

  1. lovemylabs says:

    I have a love/hate relationship with you and your baking proweness. You know that, right?

  2. emily says:

    do you happen to have a recipe for bourbon chocolate cake??

  3. Steve says:

    Chocolate cupcakes not unlike pizza and sex— really difficult to say they aren’t good even when bad– but THESE cupcakes were particulary good. The frosting was excellent– this from a guy who typically scrapes off frosting to get to the cake! The chocolate chips …..perfect. My wife thought the way the frosting was applied so that it didn’t come the the edge of the cake was masterfull. I have now written more words about cupcakes than my thoughts about the birth of my son which has me ashamed of myself. But damn they were good.

  4. Rick says:

    Ok – I will make a request and will step into the “meat and potatoes” genre. How about pork/beef combo meatballs with a chunky tomato sauce? Would be great to have now with the weather turning cold here in NY and bc I don’t have a good recipe for a combo meatball. So Erin, what say you?

Leave a Reply

