Trying something new…

I have no idea why I suddenly feel compelled to start a blog.  I have never wanted to blog. In fact, I don’t really understand blogging – I’m lucky I can turn on my computer.  It’s only recently that I’ve even started perusing blogs.  Much to my surprise, however, I’ve found several (mostly cooking related) that are interesting and funny and worthy of handing over my email address to a stranger to be notified immediately when they’ve come up with something new to share with their potential cyber-stalkers.  And while I’m being honest, I’m not convinced I really have anything to say to cyberspace that other people might find compelling enough to read.  All that aside, here I am.  Saying stuff, cooking stuff, taking pictures of stuff, and just generally rambling.  I’m not sure I have a true focus for this blog, though baking is my passion.  I briefly considered stealing adapting the Julie & Julia idea and progressively moving through the recipes on SmittenKitchen.com, but I decided that’s too unoriginal for me (I haven’t figured out how to link a blog I like to this blog…feel free to fill me in if you’re actually reading this).

Only one drawback…I have issues with follow thru.  I come up with ideas that I usually think are pretty fabulous, I get really excited about them, my husband rolls his eyes at me, my friends get excited for me (knowing full well I’m out of my tree most of the time), and within 6 weeks said idea is in a pile next to the laundry I haven’t folded quite yet (I’ll get to it, stop looking at me like that).  I figure this blog will do one of two things:  land in the pile or keep me accountable for all those things I would otherwise toss in the pile…only time will tell.

So, to start this off, here’s a list of things I’m currently working on or contemplating working on…watch out, the excitement might hit you upside the head when you’re not looking:

  • Baking.  Possibly for money, though probably not for profit.  I love baking, I’m relatively good at it, and recently people have offered to pay for my wares.  Not really sure about all that yet, but I’ll shamelessly promote here if given the opportunity.
  • Cooking.  I just love cooking and I wish I had more time for it.  And I love hearing about what other people cook so I can shamelessly copy them.
  • Photography.  Mostly of the things I love cooking.  I’m not so great, but I want to be better, so I practice on things that stand still. Like cupcakes and bowls of soup.
  • Decorating.  My husband lived in our house for over a year before I moved in permanently, yet 5+ years later there are 4 things on walls, shot glasses as “décor” and an old file cabinet for an end table.  I’m trying to adult the place up a little bit before the entire fam converges for Thanksgiving, but I lack any vision other than the Pottery Barn catalogue that lands in my mailbox approximately 47 times a week.  Along with follow thru issues, I also have commitment issues when it comes to sconces and throw pillows.
  • Other stuff I can’t think of right now, but which will undoubtably pop into my head at some inopportune time.

Here are a couple of photos of yummy goodness that I can’t even take credit for.  While visiting this weekend, my friend Emily and I happened across pre-made lard pie crust at a schmancy meat place called Prather Ranch Meat Co. in the Ferry Building Marketplace in San Francisco and immediately decided a galette needed to be made.  We were right.  I will never attempt to make pie crust with anything other than lard again (said as if I make pie crusts on a weekly basis):

Fall in a pie crust

 

Incidentally, the aforementioned Ferry Building Marketplace also houses Hog Island Oyster Co., home of the best clam chowder I’ve ever tasted:

And Cowgirl Creamery, which arguably has the best cheese this side of the Atlantic ( I was too busy eating the delish combo of toasted green onion bread, heirloom tomato and basil to take a photo of the inside of the glorious mound of fresh buratta buried under here):

cheesey goodness

Note to self…practice photography…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Trying something new…

  1. Lauren says:

    So proud of you peach! Where do I sign up?? I can’t wait to read more of your ramblings. See you tomorrow for lunchy!

    Xoxo,

    Lauren

  2. Emily says:

    Gooo Erin! Love it and love the lard. xo

  3. Danielle says:

    Yay for blogging! Good work, lady =) Can’t wait to read your first recipe!

  4. Chris says:

    You’re on your way Erin…Can’t wait to read the next blog and drool over the next food photo.

  5. Jackie P says:

    That all just made me hungry and I just finished eggs, toast, refried beans, french fries, 2 cups of coffee, and a diet coke. Yum and Yuck at the same time. In my own defense i mowed the lawn with a child strapped to my back and am off to yoga. Post some healthy recipes for me!

  6. Pingback: It’s nacho potato! | Legally Delish

  7. Pingback: Fair warning: this post has nothing to do with food | Legally Delish

  8. Pingback: Wait! These aren’t carrots! | Legally Delish

  9. Pingback: My favorite deadly sin | Legally Delish

  10. Pingback: wine + cookies = good neighbors | Legally Delish

  11. Pingback: On the 1st day of Christmas… | Legally Delish

Leave a Reply

