wine + cookies = good neighbors

This is my 100th post!!!

You can’t possibly be more surprised than me (stop pretending, it’s the weirdest of all fake emotions).  Most of you probably never read my very first blog post way back in November ’10, but I made it quite clear from the get-go that follow thru is not my strong suit.  There was always an excellent chance my first (or 3rd, or 47th) post would be my last.   After all, giving up is way easier when you give yourself a giant rabbit hole to jump down.  But here it is 17(ish) months and 100 posts later and I’m still writing (and cooking).  And people are still reading (and eating).   Some of my original brilliant and witty ideas have fallen by the wayside (the photo of the day thing didn’t stick, even after I promised it would. I’m a liar.) and it’s still a completely self-indulgent forum for inconsequential blather, but if it reading it (whatever “it” happens to be that day) amuses you even a fraction of the amount it amuses me to write it, then it’s win-win.

I feel like I should have cooked some crazy awesome thing to share with you or done something milestone worthy to tell you about to celebrate, but I didn’t.  I did bake cookies and feed them to my neighbors while drinking their wine (after stealing the cookie idea from said neighbors in the first place).  I’m generous like that.

My foodie neighbor Kari posted these Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles on Facebook and I jumped all over that shit like white on rice.  I may have taken the post as a challenge.  I may have publicly suggested I was making them that very night.  I may take Facebook posts that have nothing to do with me a little too personally.  So, I Googled them and found that the interwebs were overrun with a vegan version of these tasty sounding treats sans creaming of sugar and butter, no pre-prep, etc.  Since I am so lazy they were so popular, I opted for that version.  Chewy, dark, spicy, and excellent accompanied by wine that your neighbors bring over in hopes you will share your cookies.  Which we did.

The moral of the story, of course, is bake these and your neighbors will drink with you on a  school night.

Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles
(from: www.theppk.com)

For the topping (as usual, I didn’t really measure these):
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

For the cookies (these I did measure):
1/2 cup canola oil
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
3 tablespoons almond milk (Or your preferred non-dairy milk)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon chocolate extract (or more vanilla extract if you have no chocolate)
1 2/3 cups flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cayenne (I probably used more like a tsp)

  • Preheat oven to 350 F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpats.
  • Mix the topping ingredients together on a flat plate. Set aside.
  • In a medium mixing bowl, use a fork to vigorously mix together oil,  sugar, syrup, and milk. Mix in extracts.
  • Sift in remaining ingredients, stirring as you add them. Once all ingredients are added mix until you’ve got a pliable dough.
  • Roll dough into walnut sized balls. Pat into the sugar topping to flatten into roughly 2 inch discs. Transfer to baking sheet, sugar side up, at least 2 inches apart (they do spread). This should be easy as the the bottom of the cookies should just stick to your fingers so you can just flip them over onto the baking sheet.  Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, they should be a bit spread and crackly on top. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to wine + cookies = good neighbors

  1. Sidney says:

    Congratulations on your 100th post! And those cookies…

  2. Sabrina says:

    Congrats on your 100th post! Keep ‘em coming.

  3. Kari Embree says:

    We had a great time crashing your house in hopes that you actually had made those cookies – you know we are always stocked with wine for future school night cookies-and-wine get-togethers! :)

  4. Jamie says:

    Yay 100! CONGRATULATIONS!!

  5. I have been reading since the first post!! Congreats!!!

Leave a Reply

