Wedding bells

Not mine, I already skipped-to-my-loo down that aisle.   Actually, it was more like off-balanced shuffling through sand than skipping, but, well, that is utterly irrelevant.  These wedding bells were chiming for the lovely Janelle, who entrusted the creating of her wedding cupcakes to me.  Janelle is lovely, but sometimes I wonder how many file boxes have fallen on her head.   My money is on a minimum of four.

pineapple upside down cakes with rum glaze.

I committed the cardinal sin of baking for a special occasion – I took a whack at a new recipe the day before the day.  I did a dry run for Janelle and her bridegroom a few months ago and we collectively determined that they were swell, but I, in my infinite wisdom, suggested an alternative frosting for one of the flavors that would be prettier and stand up better on display.   Then I, in my continued infinite wisdom, never took the recipe for a test drive. It’s ok, folks, my brilliance is just as overwhelming to me too.

The recipe promised to be a sturdy version of whipped cream frosting and I took its word for it.  Then I tried to make three batches at once.  My normal human sized Kitchen Aid was not a fan of that undertaking and revolted by refusing to whip my cream.  So I removed half of it and promptly over-whipped the first batch into butter.  Batch one, rubbish.  It was midnight, so I put the second half in the ice-box and said a quick prayer to the gods of stiff peaks that all would be resolved in the morning.

I’ll spare you the sordid details, but suffice it to say, my peaks lacked the staying power to be wedding-worthy come morning.  So I did what any sane person would do.  I scraped the frosting off of all 36 cupcakes, went to the store to get all new ingredients and started over.  Third time was the charm though, and they actually did come out the way I expected them to all along, just in time to deliver them to the reception.  Tense times, people.  Tense times.  Needless to say (but I’ll say it anyway, cuz that’s how I work), I didn’t take many photos.

Finally packed up and ready to go:

Three boxes of chocolate/nutella/cream cheese cupcakes on top, 36 pineapple upside down cupcakes on the bottom.

Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes
w/Rum Glaze

Recipe modified from a friend’s mom
makes 18-24 cupcakes

One recipe vanilla cake (she uses Duncan Hines, I used the recipe I posted here)
2 large cans crushed pineapple, drained
1.5 sticks of butter
1 (ish) cups of brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350.

1.  melt the butter in the microwave or on the stovetop
(I used a glass measuring cup for easy pouring)
2.  Pour butter evenly among cupcake tins.
3.  put about a heaping tsp of brown sugar in each cupcake cup and top with a Tbsp of pineapple (more if you like a lot of fruit).
4.  Fill cups about 3/4 full with cake batter
5.  Bake about 20 mins or until a toothpick comes out of the cake part clean.
6.  Allow to cool until you can touch the pan without potholders and turn onto cooling racks.  If they get too cool in the pan, the pineapple will stick.

Rum Glaze
(adapted from:  www.epicurious.com)

1 cup dark rum
12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
1/4 cup light brown sugar (I added a little extra)

Combine the rum, butter, and sugar in a small saucepan and simmer, whisking often, until the sugar has melted and the mixture is slightly thickened, about 10 minutes.  Let cool and brush generously over the cupcakes.  Top with a maraschino cherry if desired.

Dark Chocolate Nutella Filled Cupcakes

Dark chocolate recipe from here.  I omitted the mint and replaced it with vanilla extract.

I hollowed out the cupcakes and filled them with a mixture of Nutella and softened cream cheese.  About 4 to 1 Nutella.  I put the tops back on the cupcakes and frosted them with this frosting.  Whip the hell out of it, kids, but watch it closely.  It really wants to be sugary butter.  Oh, and buy extra ingredients just in case.

This entry was posted in Baking, cakes, Chocolate, cooking, Cream Cheese, cupcakes, dessert, recipes, Uncategorized, weddings, whipped cream. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wedding bells

  1. Kim J says:

    Okay- yum! I don’t think i helped you out with the late night frosting. But paddleboarding was fun earlier that evening! And your backbend amazing!

  2. Both types look amazing, but those nutella ones incredibly so. They look so perfectly decorated, no wonder she entrusted you with baking! And what an honour!

Leave a Reply

