Bread. Garlic. Cheese. Repeat.

The combination of foodstuffs that can be added to the title ingredients to create magic culinary experiences is unquantifiable in my brain.   Mostly because as soon as I start trying to count the ways to make already delicious garlic cheesy bread even more mouth-watering, I get so hungry I have to go forage for something edible and, well, I’m easily distracted so then I usually end up playing bocce ball or washing the dog.

I conveniently saw this post from How Sweet It Is (a blog I think I’ve made clear I’m completely obsessed with) the Friday before B’s grand BBQ plan this last weekend.  In addition to the lemon squares I made, I was convinced that the evening wouldn’t be complete without a version of this bread.  I don’t take photos nearly as well as Jessica of How Sweet, but the bread was still damn good.

Roughly chopped artichoke hearts.

MMM….garlic…

Mozzarella, parmesan and panko bread crumbs.

I would have tried to get a better shot of this, but I was literally being shoved out of the way by people with knives.  They were plastic knives, but hungry people with plastic knives are still scary.

I thought about putting bacon on it, but considering there was pork in the beans, bacon on the mac and cheese, pulled pork and ribs for dinner and a big plate of bacon on the counter (cooked to go in the beans, but eaten by the handful off the plate instead), I refrained.  This is what my plate looked like…for my first helping:

Today’s photo assignment is as cliché as it is timely, though it’s highly likely I would have chosen the same subject even if the Wedding of the Century hadn’t taken place last weekend. Photo #6 is  A picture of a person you’d love to trade places with for a day.

Though her sister’s (admittedly fantastic) ass seems to be getting the most attention from the nuptials heard ’round the world, I would love to walk in Kate’s shoes for the day.  My mother is a die-hard anglophile and I grew up with a fascination for the royal family and royalty in general.  I would love to see the behind the scenes of royal life.  I couldn’t care less about the celebrity side of it, but to see what a day in the life of the royal family is like, and what is truly expected of a commoner marrying into the monarchy, would be pretty interesting.  Plus, I really like her wardrobe.

Artichoke Cheesy Bread
(adapted from:  www.howsweeteats.com
I doubled the ingredients and didn’t really measure)

2 whole grain french baguettes (I used one big ciabatta loaf)
1/4 cup olive oil
1 14-ounce can of artichokes in water or brine, drained and chopped (about 10-12 hearts)
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 cups freshly grated parmesan cheese
1/3 cup grated mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup seasoned panko bread crumbs
fresh parsley for garnish (I didn’t do that part)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut the baguettes in half lengthwise and brush with the olive oil. Equally distribute the minced garlic and chopped artichoke hearts. Top each with a good handful of cheese, about 1/3 cup each. Sprinkle on a few breadcrumbs. Bake for 8 minutes, then heat the broiler and broil for 2 minutes, or until cheese is golden brown. Garnish with chopped parsley.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bread. Garlic. Cheese. Repeat.

  1. Barb says:

    I love the pomp and circumstance. Even that black and white tiled floor slayed me. That cheesy bread though…man…that looks royally fantastic

Leave a Reply

